Sour Cream Apple Pie I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2005
I won an apple baking contest at work with this recipe! The only thing I changed was I baked it in a gingerbread crust. It was very good and I'm making it for Christmas eve.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Stony Brook, New York, USA
Living In: Lindenhurst, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2005
Amazing, fabulous recipe! I made this for Thanksgiving last year with a mixture of granny smith and golden delicious apples and everyone raved about it. I don't make the best pastry crust in the world, but this recipe more than made up for that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2005
I don't have good luck with pies, but my father wanted to try a Sour Cream Apple Pie and I chose this recipe. I'm glad I did it was the easiest pie I ever made and Dad thought it was just delicious. This one's a keeper. Thank you Eleanor Johnson for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2004
I liked it but there was something missing. I think it was not having cinammon mixed into the apple layer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2004
You have to prepare your mouth for a different taste than traditional apple pie. I didn't like the first piece because I was thinking of apple pie even though I knew that wasn't what it was. The second (and third) piece was great. I shared with my sister and she took the recipe too. I will make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2004
Excellent! If you're making one, might as well make two! It'll disappear! Agree with doubling the butter in the topping. Serve warm with vanilla ice cream! Will experiment with brown sugar & cinnamon, but agree this is 5 stars w/o any adjustments.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2004
This was my first attempt at making a pie, and it turned out great!! One of the best Apple pies I've tasted and my husband agreed. I changed a few things. I increased the sugar to 1 C. and used half brown sugar and half white. I also excluded the nutmeg and added 1 1/2 tblsp of cinnamon instead. I also coated the apple with about 1/4 c white sugar and 2 teas. of cinnamon before mixing them in the sour cream mixture. For the topping I double the amount of butter called for. Next time I will try adding a little allspice and cloves. Will make this again often!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2004
What a delicious recipe and a nice change from traditional apple pie! Creamy, smooth with a crunchy streusal topping- it's now a new favorite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2004
This recipe was very easy and tasted great! I will definitely make it again. I suggest doubling the butter to 4 tablespoons on the topping. This helps give it a clumpier texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2004
Very yummy... best when it's still warm
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 78) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Glazed Apple Cream Pie

See how to make a double-crust cream pie topped with cinnamon-glazed apples.

Sour Cream Pear Pie

This sour cream-based fruit pie is a crowd-pleaser that’s anything but ordinary.

Apple Pie I

See how to make a simple, 5-star apple pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States