Sour Cream Apple Pie I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2007
Delicious! A few changes I made - I ran out of white sugar, so I used almost all brown, I used light sour cream, and I increased the butter in the crumb topping to 1/4 cup. I did broil it for a minute or so to get the topping crunchy. It was a big hit! Then I made it again without any changes to the recipe, and it was even better! My new favorite pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by craftytammie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wichita, Kansas, USA
Living In: Richmond, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2007
Threw in some raisins, otherwise kept the same. Brought it to my Dad's for Father's Day, delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2007
SO good!!! I used 4 small granny smith apples, I probably could have added a couple more but it is really really good anyway.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2007
Loved it. Will definitely make again. Quite easy to make too - a bonus!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pamnto

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2007
This pie was so yummy!! We live near Apple Hill and get pies from up there. My family agreed this was better than any pie we have every gotten from there. This will be a new stable in our family!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by QUADCHICK

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Auburn, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2007
this recipe is great! i found that by after chopping the apples up in to chunks, if you cover them with a cinnamon and white sugar mixture, they soak up more flavor! also. add about 1/2-1 more cup of chopped apples to the mix and you want to make sure the crumble isn't too crumblee by adding enough butter! good pie. good eats!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Samantha

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Omaha, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2007
This was a delicious change of pace from standard apple pie. The creamy texture of the sour cream is a nice contrast to the other ingredients. I did not have any trouble with the sour cream separating as mentioned in another review. I did buy name brand as another reviewer suggested. I used a frozen crust that I cooked for about half the time on the package before filling the crust.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Marshall, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2006
I don't usually go for open-topped pies but this one is great! You don't taste the sour cream at all in of itself - it just has a nice overall flavor. Definitely sweet enough which I had originally wondered about...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mommymeggy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2006
Excellent pie! One of my favorite apple pie recipes. I don't chop the apples, but slice them like a traditional apple pie. I also like to double the crumb topping. My two cents on the crumb topping - I like it to be crumbly, so I do not add any extra butter. When you are combining the ingredients, use a pastry cutter and cut into it until it has turned to fine crumbs. This is more of a crumb topping to me than adding extra butter and leaving it in bigger chunks. Just my opinion, though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Farmington, New Mexico, USA
Living In: Orem, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2006
Very good recipe. You couldn;t even tell that there was sour cream in it, but it gave it an excellent taste!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Altoona, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 78) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Glazed Apple Cream Pie

See how to make a double-crust cream pie topped with cinnamon-glazed apples.

Sour Cream Pear Pie

This sour cream-based fruit pie is a crowd-pleaser that’s anything but ordinary.

Apple Pie I

See how to make a simple, 5-star apple pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States