Sour Cream Apple Pie Deluxe Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2010
This pie was WONDERFUL... I added a little more apple then it called for and added cinnamon to the filling..... My daughter does not like to try things new.. When she first saw Sour Cream in the title.. she stated she was not having any... Well, after dinner she tried a small bite.. went back for a HUGE slice and then my three children argued over who was getting the last slice.. My oldest who has been a die hard Pumpkin Pie fanatic has not declared the 'BEST' pie in the world. They all then declared I needed to make 4 of these pies for Thanksgiving.. one for each of them and one for everyone else to share.... This pie was so quick to put together....... :o)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2010
The pie is delicious however it is not an attractive looking pie. I made one with white sugar and one with half brown sugar in crumb topping with color remaining the same dark brown. It doesn't rise and almost look like one just sprinkled brown sugar over it with some drizzled butter. Tasty dessert but not a "wow" looking pie if you mean to impress your dinner guests.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jbeasley8292
Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2010
This pie is actually one of the best pies I have ever made. I chopped the apples a little bit bigger than I have before because I feel you don't get quite a bite if you chop them so small. I love the topping but I was just told it would be better if all the sugar was off. Eh, I don't think so. Have fun eating!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stacie Bonner

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hornbeck, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2010
This was very good. I did add about an extra cup of apples ( 2 cups just did not look like enough..) and I think I could have even added more. Added almonds to the topping as other posters suggested- very good! WIll make it again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carolyn Schoeb Boersma

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: West Olive, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2010
It is the perfect pie for Thanksgiving dinner, along with the traditional pumpkin pie. This recipe will be made for generations in our family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by luvs2bake

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2010
We liked this fine, but we didn't love it. I followed recipe exactly and thought the end result was a little bland, not quite like an apple pie but didn't have much of a sour cream flavor either.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2010
This pie was AMAZING. It was definitely a little juicy, but also crunchy and so so good. We customized a bit and added some melted caramel drizzled on top for the last five minutes it was in the oven. If you do this you will thank yourself. This pie was phenomenal. Careful on the amount of liquid you use so it doesn't get too runny, but all in all this pie was HEAVENLY.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2010
This is one of my favorite pie recipes. Since I just cannot seem to follow a recipe as written I had to change this one up too. I used almond extract instead of vanilla, added sliced almonds to the topping and subbed half of the sugar in the topping with brown sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2010
Wonderful pie! I used brown sugar in the crumble topping, it gave it a little carmel yumminess!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karn

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2010
This was so good! It came out perfectly. I wouldn't change a thing. It is my new favorite apple pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hawthorne, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Fair Lawn, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 250) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Glazed Apple Cream Pie

See how to make a double-crust cream pie topped with cinnamon-glazed apples.

Sour Cream Pear Pie

This sour cream-based fruit pie is a crowd-pleaser that’s anything but ordinary.

Apple Pie I

See how to make a simple, 5-star apple pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States