Sour Cream Apple Pie Deluxe Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2006
I entered this pie into a pie contest, never having made it before. I won First Prize over 30 other pies! A shock, because there were many pies that were more beautiful and elaborate, but the judges raved about the flavor and the texture of the surprise sour cream filling. This is why I LOVE Allrecipe reviews! I can never lose when I look for the highly rated recipes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
159 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2006
I made this pie for the second time yesterday. It was a hit last night for dessert, and even better chilled this am at the church pot luck lunch. Both times I've made it, I wanted two pies (the pillsbury pre-packaged crusts at our grocery store come in packs of 2) This first time, I made one deep dish (in a nice ceramic pie plate), and another in a regular tin pie plate. Doubling the recipe gave barely enough filling. Yesterday, I used a triple recipe, and 2 nice ceramic dishes. I tripled the filling, and the topping ingredients. This resulted in 2 nice deep dish pies. I did cook the pies a little longer, just adding a couple of minutes to each step to be sure the deeper pies were thoroughly cooked. I found the recipe easy, and the end result simply perfect. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
97 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hettinger, North Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2003
This was a yummy pie! While making it I realized the container I had in the fridge was plain yogurt, not sour cream! I used the yogurt, and the pie still turned out delicious! I ended up baking it at least an extra half hour after the topping was on- because I was unsure about the yogurt, and the top wasn't browning. It didn't brown, just got crunchy, and the pie turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
64 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TAMMERSANN

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2008
This is such a great pie recipe. My only problem is that it disappears before I get to eat my share! A couple of calories and fat can be trimmed with reduced fat sour cream. Like many others, I reduced the sugar to one half cup, and added a sprinkle of nutmeg to the topping. Total baking time of one hour is needed....just follow the directions and add keep it in the oven for the extra time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by alanE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lincoln, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2003
This was very good. A bit sweet for us, so I'll just reduce the sugar next time. Also, I baked it much longer (almost 45 minutes) to get the apples really tender. I don't like them at all firm. A great change from regular apple pie -- definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2003
This is good stuff! One of the easiest recipe I ever made... But I think have to increase the flour to maybe 3/4 cup for it to resemble fine crumbs. Otherwise, it is great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sylvia
Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2010
Nice recipe, but to sweet for my taste. The crumb topping would be nice with some added nuts. I made extra to fill a deep dish. Very rich pie. Sweezing the cumbs tight together and then breaking them up over the apples helps to have a nice chunky appearance of the crumb topping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sylvia

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Belfast, County Antrim, Northern Ireland, U.K.
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2003
This pie was absolutely wonderful! My whole family loved it. I love the combination of apples, sour cream and the topping. The recipe was very clear and easy to follow. I will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2010
Everyone really loved this dessert, but I doubled the topping. Finally getting around to reviewing after all this time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Providence, Rhode Island, USA
Living In: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2012
Really loved it. Decided to do this after so many years of only knowing how to make pumpkin cheese cake for the holidays and I wanted to make a very non-traditional apple pie.....I increased the butter for the topping, by a teaspoon or so....other than that just really delicious and wholesome!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lolanozz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Astoria, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 252) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Glazed Apple Cream Pie

See how to make a double-crust cream pie topped with cinnamon-glazed apples.

Sour Cream Pear Pie

This sour cream-based fruit pie is a crowd-pleaser that’s anything but ordinary.

Apple Pie I

See how to make a simple, 5-star apple pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States