Sour Cream Apple Pie Deluxe Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2010
After reading so many great reviews I expected this pie to be absolute perfection. I was pretty disappointed. The sour cream mixture made the crust and crumble very soggy. I really didn't care for the texture of the apples. I won't be trying this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2010
Yummy change of pace from good old apple pie. The crust edge did get too dark, even after covering with foil. But that filling definitely makes up for it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2010
Made it twice this over Thanksgiving. Accidentally added 2 teaspoons of salt the second time and came out great... just a little less sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2010
Delicious! Made no changes and took to my boyfriend's parents house for thanksgiving dinner. His mother and father raved about how good it was. Too easy for the number of compliments and recipe requests. Definately making again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MYRIS

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2010
This got the non-apple pie eaters eating apple pie! While it isn't as pretty as my classic apple pies due to the crumb topping, it makes up for it in taste and smell. I used a total of five medium apples and low fat sour cream for the filling. I sliced the apples thinly and then gave them a rough chop. They came out evenly baked and saturated with the sour cream coating. I also added a little cinnamon to the sour cream mixture. Overall I feel that I followed the recipe pretty closely and it came out amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2010
The best apple pie recipe ever! Everyone loved it and raved over the taste. I added about 1/2 cup chopped walnuts to the topping as well. Will definitely be in my cooking bag of tricks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melissa Barnhardt Martin

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2010
Best apple pie ever. I actually made a mistake when making it, not knowing how it would turn out, but it didn't matter. I had some lemon juice in a bowl with the diced apples to keep them from browning, and I forgot to drain them, and put the lemon juice in the pie by mistake. It was about a tablespoon or two. So, I just added a little more dry ingredients to thicken it back up. Well, the lemon juice gave it the slightly tart taste, and it was so good and not overly sweet. I will be making this again and again...and will add lemon juice on purpose :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michelle Kline

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2010
As a non-baker, this pie is very easy to make. When I started making it 3 yrs. ago I think I messed it up once, but once I got the hang of it, there is no other apple pie for me. I actually have to 'lose' this recipe periodically as eating 1/4 of a pie a night CAN'T be good for you.....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2010
Great! I cut down the sugar to 1/2 cup as suggested by other users. Will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2010
The best way to have apple pie! We've been making this pie for the past three years every fall with apples from our tree and it never fails to delight!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TwoPie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 253) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Glazed Apple Cream Pie

See how to make a double-crust cream pie topped with cinnamon-glazed apples.

Sour Cream Pear Pie

This sour cream-based fruit pie is a crowd-pleaser that’s anything but ordinary.

Apple Pie I

See how to make a simple, 5-star apple pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States