Sour Cream Apple Pie Deluxe Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2010
Best apple pie ever. I actually made a mistake when making it, not knowing how it would turn out, but it didn't matter. I had some lemon juice in a bowl with the diced apples to keep them from browning, and I forgot to drain them, and put the lemon juice in the pie by mistake. It was about a tablespoon or two. So, I just added a little more dry ingredients to thicken it back up. Well, the lemon juice gave it the slightly tart taste, and it was so good and not overly sweet. I will be making this again and again...and will add lemon juice on purpose :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2010
As a non-baker, this pie is very easy to make. When I started making it 3 yrs. ago I think I messed it up once, but once I got the hang of it, there is no other apple pie for me. I actually have to 'lose' this recipe periodically as eating 1/4 of a pie a night CAN'T be good for you.....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2010
Great! I cut down the sugar to 1/2 cup as suggested by other users. Will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2010
The best way to have apple pie! We've been making this pie for the past three years every fall with apples from our tree and it never fails to delight!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TwoPie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2010
I followed this recipe exactly, and although it was indeed a delicious pie, I didn't think this was the best pie ever... Update - I'm changing my rating from 4 to 5 stars. This pie gets better the longer it's refrigerated. I couldn't stop eating it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Mooresville, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2010
I made two versions of this pie tonight. With the first one, I followed the recipe to the letter. With the second, I left out the sour cream and vanilla, and substituted them with vanilla yogurt. The pies were both great, but I liked the one with the vanilla yogurt a little more. The consistency was the same in each pie. They kind of had a baked custard element to them, which contrasted wonderfully with the crumb topping. I used Stoneyfield Organic sour cream and vanilla yogurt, organic butter, and also Sugar in the Raw. I was also generous on the tablespoons of flour in the mix. And I let them cool for about half an hour before I taste tested. I also love how easy this pie is to make. I'm surprised someone said it wasn't pretty. I'm sure some leaves shaped from leftover pie crust dough would get it on the cover of any magazine. There's an idea for next time! Other than maybe adding a little more apple, I wouldn't change anything else.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Emigh

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sylvia
Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2010
Nice recipe, but to sweet for my taste. The crumb topping would be nice with some added nuts. I made extra to fill a deep dish. Very rich pie. Sweezing the cumbs tight together and then breaking them up over the apples helps to have a nice chunky appearance of the crumb topping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sylvia

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Belfast, County Antrim, Northern Ireland, U.K.
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2010
This pie was WONDERFUL... I added a little more apple then it called for and added cinnamon to the filling..... My daughter does not like to try things new.. When she first saw Sour Cream in the title.. she stated she was not having any... Well, after dinner she tried a small bite.. went back for a HUGE slice and then my three children argued over who was getting the last slice.. My oldest who has been a die hard Pumpkin Pie fanatic has not declared the 'BEST' pie in the world. They all then declared I needed to make 4 of these pies for Thanksgiving.. one for each of them and one for everyone else to share.... This pie was so quick to put together....... :o)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2010
The pie is delicious however it is not an attractive looking pie. I made one with white sugar and one with half brown sugar in crumb topping with color remaining the same dark brown. It doesn't rise and almost look like one just sprinkled brown sugar over it with some drizzled butter. Tasty dessert but not a "wow" looking pie if you mean to impress your dinner guests.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jbeasley8292
Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2010
This pie is actually one of the best pies I have ever made. I chopped the apples a little bit bigger than I have before because I feel you don't get quite a bite if you chop them so small. I love the topping but I was just told it would be better if all the sugar was off. Eh, I don't think so. Have fun eating!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ladybugcook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hornbeck, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 247) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Glazed Apple Cream Pie

See how to make a double-crust cream pie topped with cinnamon-glazed apples.

Sour Cream Pear Pie

This sour cream-based fruit pie is a crowd-pleaser that’s anything but ordinary.

Apple Pie I

See how to make a simple, 5-star apple pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States