Sour Cream Apple Pie Deluxe Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2010
Made this pie for thanksgiving. SOOOO GOOD!! Its my new "go to" pie. I made a graham cracker crust because I didnt have a regular crust on hand and it made it taste like cheesecake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer York

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2010
a very attractive pie, and VERY tasty. Sour cream cuts the sweet. My husband, who is not a pie guy, really enjoyed this and thought I was very clever!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: East Chicago, Indiana, USA
Living In: Pawtucket, Rhode Island, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2010
I absolutely LOVE this pie!! I have never written a review before but I thought this recipe deserved it... I followed the recipe exactly and I have made it ohh about 5 times I'd say now and every single person I've made it for has loved it. This is hands down one of my favorite pies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2010
I had this great recipe for sour cream apple pie that someone had given me years ago and lost it. Came upon this recipe and give it a try. I followed the directions pretty close but doubled it. I slightly baked the pie crust, added cinnamon to the apples and used brown sugar instead of white in the topping mixture. This filling looked runny since it had a lot of sour cream in it but the eggs helped firm the filling. Placed foil on the crust edges. It was a little tough getting the topping to sprinkle around even though I chilled it in the fridge while the pie baked. I did have to bake it another 15 minutes since I like a softer apple bite. Over all it was pretty good but wasn't as good as the recipe that I lost.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2010
This pie tasted just like the pie that my mom used to make growing up. It was delicious! I got so many compliments on it. My one suggestion would be to use a deep pie dish because it yields a lot but oh so yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2010
I have never baked a pie before. I made this thinking it sounded interesting. This lead to my children and I baking 12 pies for friends for Thanksgiving. I actually had frineds ordering pies..lol.. What a huge hit!!! I added more apples than what is called for, enough to really fill the pie crust. This is a simple, quick, delicious pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2010
Very tasty. I used a sweeter apple instead of my traditional grannies and it came out great. My mother, who's not an apple fan, loved this pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LYNN39SCAF

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Phoenixville, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2010
After reading so many great reviews I expected this pie to be absolute perfection. I was pretty disappointed. The sour cream mixture made the crust and crumble very soggy. I really didn't care for the texture of the apples. I won't be trying this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2010
Yummy change of pace from good old apple pie. The crust edge did get too dark, even after covering with foil. But that filling definitely makes up for it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2010
Made it twice this over Thanksgiving. Accidentally added 2 teaspoons of salt the second time and came out great... just a little less sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 250) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Glazed Apple Cream Pie

See how to make a double-crust cream pie topped with cinnamon-glazed apples.

Sour Cream Pear Pie

This sour cream-based fruit pie is a crowd-pleaser that’s anything but ordinary.

Apple Pie I

See how to make a simple, 5-star apple pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States