Sour Cream Apple Pie Deluxe Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2011
I made this for Thanksgiving and it was a hit! It's was everyones favorite pie. I did use about double the apples from what the recipe called for. I just didn't think two cups was enough. Wonderful pie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2011
Made this pie for the first time for Thanksgiving. I was very intrigued by all of the 4 star reviews and professions of love for this pie...but I can't say the same. I made the pie exactly as the recipie states, the only change I made was to add some cinnamon & nutmeg to the filling as it seemed rather bland as written. The pie wasn't bad...it just didn't strike me as all that special. Tasty, but not to-die-for. Maybe sometime I'll give it a try again, but with a dutch apple type of crumble topping. I didn't care for the topping in this recipie as I found it got rather soggy on the second day. I might really enjoy the creamy filling with a more sturdy, crunchy topping. It was fun to give this a try, though. I've never made an apple pie like this before. Thanks for sharing! :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New Brighton, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Saint Paul, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2011
My family loved this receipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2011
I made this recipe exactly as stated and the end results were perfect - a perfect blend of sweet and tart. This has to be my all time favorate apple pie recipe I have ever tasted.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2011
I had a bunch of granny smith apples I needed to use and I found this recipe. This was amazing! (And I made it EXACTLY the way the recipe specifies.) I served it to my family and while apple pie is something we all like, it has never been at the top of our pie favorites...this is no longer true. I made it a week ago and I still am getting comments/requests for more. Oh and the best thing of all--my husband of 23 years complimented my cooking without ANY reference to his mother's. YAY!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2011
Usually I have trouble with pies not setting. This recipe worked perfectly. All the ingredients fit into a regular pie shell without spilling over. It baked up just right and it's so much better than just a plain apple pie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2011
Fantastic. Made this for a work Thanksgiving potluck, and everybody raved about it. I made it in a tart pan, which meant less exposed crust, which I prefer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2011
Delicious exactly as written. Don't know why anyone would make changes to this recipe. I used frozen apples from my tree.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Debbie Koch-Ruzich
Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2011
this is my first time for a cream pie and it is so good . I used yogart in place of the sour cream
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Debbie Koch-Ruzich

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2011
Made this last night for a potluck today. I love it it will be one on my new faves. I did dubble the apples and the topping only because my pie pan was a deep pan, but really I didn't need to. It would have been fine the way the recipe call for. Thank you for this Recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 258) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Glazed Apple Cream Pie

See how to make a double-crust cream pie topped with cinnamon-glazed apples.

Sour Cream Pear Pie

This sour cream-based fruit pie is a crowd-pleaser that’s anything but ordinary.

Apple Pie I

See how to make a simple, 5-star apple pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States