Sour Cream Apple Pie Deluxe Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2012
This was so easy to make. I had some Gala Apples to use up, so I thought the sour cream would balance out the sweetness of the apples. Boy was I right! Turned out deliciously.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MarisaH

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sacramento, California, USA
Living In: Folsom, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2012
I have been making Sour Cream Apple Pie for several years & I love it! It tastes great warm or cold but I prefer it warm.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2012
Delicious, a nice variation on traditional apple pie, especially when there's no ice cream on hand. I increased the amount of apples for a deeper dish pie, as well as the baking time. It was devoured in no time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2012
Really loved it. Decided to do this after so many years of only knowing how to make pumpkin cheese cake for the holidays and I wanted to make a very non-traditional apple pie.....I increased the butter for the topping, by a teaspoon or so....other than that just really delicious and wholesome!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lolanozz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Astoria, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2012
Yummy! Similar to Marie Calendar's sour cream apple pie, but the sour cream is mixed with the apples instead of layering the top. I used low fat vanilla yogurt, doubled the apples and covered the crust with foil until the last 30 minutes of baking. I used brown sugar and smart balance for topping. Definitely making it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laura

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2012
Very different kind of apple pie recipe, but my family loved it!! I didn't mention the sour cream part because my family is not very fond of it, but after tasting it I broke the news to them and they were in disbelief LoL I loved that this was a simple recipe.. I already had everything except for the sour cream.. The only thing I would do differently, is maybe added more apples next time.. Other than that, loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2012
I have made dozens of apple pies and this is the most memorable by far. I used the $2000 Pie Crust recipe from this site for the bottom. It was the first tim I've tried a crust with an egg (I usually use the recipe in my trusty Better Homes and Gardens Cookbook for a basic pie crust). I had some issues with it falling apart, but I was able to piece it together and boy, was it worth it. It was the richest, most delicious apple pie I've ever tasted. I did use more than two cups of apples, probably more like 4 or 5. I am not afraid of raw egg (most of the time), especially when it could mean the difference between a good pie and a great pie, so I tasted the filling before baking and knew immediately I was in for real treat. Thank you so much for this recipe! One more note: Be sure to cover the edges of the pie with aluminum foil during the first half of cooking time so the crust doesn't get too brown.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2011
This was the most awesome pie! I got so many compliments, and requests for the recipe the first time I made t. I used half golden delicious and half granny smith. I used more than the 2 C of apples per pie, as I had a deep dish pie crust. I used closer to 3.5 to 4 C apples total per pie, but kept everything else the same. Not too sweet at all. This one I will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Janesville, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2011
I had this pie when my aunt made it for me as a child. I have been searching for the perfect recipe and this one reminds me of her pie. So yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2011
a little sweet, but so good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sierra LaDow

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 258) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Glazed Apple Cream Pie

See how to make a double-crust cream pie topped with cinnamon-glazed apples.

Sour Cream Pear Pie

This sour cream-based fruit pie is a crowd-pleaser that’s anything but ordinary.

Apple Pie I

See how to make a simple, 5-star apple pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States