Sour Cream Apple Pie Deluxe Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2011
Made this pie for the first time for Thanksgiving. I was very intrigued by all of the 4 star reviews and professions of love for this pie...but I can't say the same. I made the pie exactly as the recipie states, the only change I made was to add some cinnamon & nutmeg to the filling as it seemed rather bland as written. The pie wasn't bad...it just didn't strike me as all that special. Tasty, but not to-die-for. Maybe sometime I'll give it a try again, but with a dutch apple type of crumble topping. I didn't care for the topping in this recipie as I found it got rather soggy on the second day. I might really enjoy the creamy filling with a more sturdy, crunchy topping. It was fun to give this a try, though. I've never made an apple pie like this before. Thanks for sharing! :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New Brighton, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Saint Paul, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2011
My family loved this receipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2011
I made this recipe exactly as stated and the end results were perfect - a perfect blend of sweet and tart. This has to be my all time favorate apple pie recipe I have ever tasted.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2011
I had a bunch of granny smith apples I needed to use and I found this recipe. This was amazing! (And I made it EXACTLY the way the recipe specifies.) I served it to my family and while apple pie is something we all like, it has never been at the top of our pie favorites...this is no longer true. I made it a week ago and I still am getting comments/requests for more. Oh and the best thing of all--my husband of 23 years complimented my cooking without ANY reference to his mother's. YAY!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2011
Usually I have trouble with pies not setting. This recipe worked perfectly. All the ingredients fit into a regular pie shell without spilling over. It baked up just right and it's so much better than just a plain apple pie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2011
Fantastic. Made this for a work Thanksgiving potluck, and everybody raved about it. I made it in a tart pan, which meant less exposed crust, which I prefer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2011
Delicious exactly as written. Don't know why anyone would make changes to this recipe. I used frozen apples from my tree.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Debbie
Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2011
this is my first time for a cream pie and it is so good . I used yogart in place of the sour cream
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2011
Made this last night for a potluck today. I love it it will be one on my new faves. I did dubble the apples and the topping only because my pie pan was a deep pan, but really I didn't need to. It would have been fine the way the recipe call for. Thank you for this Recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2011
I did not care for this. Made it exactly as stated. It is edible so all is not lost. Would not make again, but thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 247) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Glazed Apple Cream Pie

See how to make a double-crust cream pie topped with cinnamon-glazed apples.

Sour Cream Pear Pie

This sour cream-based fruit pie is a crowd-pleaser that’s anything but ordinary.

Apple Pie I

See how to make a simple, 5-star apple pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States