Sour Cream Apple Pie Deluxe Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2010
Amazing pie. First pie I EVER made by myself! I have now made it twice. The second time, I realized too late that I didn't have sour cream, so I used a container of vanilla yogurt and a dash of French Vanilla coffee mate, and I always put lots of extra cinnamon in my mix. It came out amazing! I also use mostly brown sugar in this recipe instead of white, especially for the topping, and let it bake an extra 20 minutes. The result is a nice, crispy top and perfectly tender apples underneath. Lovely!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2010
The pie was decent but I honestly don't see how it is prize winning. Flavor was quite bland and the texture was just as dull. Not terrible though. I would recommend just making regular apple pie or my personal favorite Grandme's Apple Crisp.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2010
OUTSTANDING! So easy and so delicious. You have to make this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2010
One of those desserts that taste great the day you make it, and incredible a couple days later. I added golden raisins to the filling, slivered almonds to the crumb topping, and used reduced fat sour cream. This pie freezes beautifully, which makes it handy to have just in case company drops by.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Syracuse, Utah, USA
Living In: Alexandria, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2010
Everyone really loved this dessert, but I doubled the topping. Finally getting around to reviewing after all this time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Providence, Rhode Island, USA
Living In: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Skoo
Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2010
A truly lovely pie. I did make one major change, and I don't usually review when I've made such a big change but I think it may be helpful to people if I comment on it. I had a half sour cream/half sweetened condensed milk mixture from another recipe. I used that in place of the sour cream and omitted the sugar in the recipe. It was perfect! I did have to leave the pie in for a few more minutes to get the crumble nice and crunchy. The only down side is the pie crust along the edge got pretty dark- even though I covered it when I put the crumble in. I will have to cover it earlier next time. Thanks again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Skoo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Stettler, Alberta, Canada
Reviewed: May 7, 2010
I chose this pie to be the 1st HOMEMADE pie that I ever make. I even made the crust (from a different recipe). It was so delicious. My family was scared to eat it, but ended up LOVING it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cami.aberle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2010
this is the best pie i have ever tasted. my husband loves it too. the only change i made was to add a pinch of nutmeg, can't wait to serve it to guests. thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2010
LOVE, LOVE, LOVE this!!!! This is the first time that I have made apple pie and it reminds me of a farm back home. I will definitely be making this again....soon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lindsey

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2010
Very good apple pie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tara Toddy-Cobine

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 250) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Glazed Apple Cream Pie

See how to make a double-crust cream pie topped with cinnamon-glazed apples.

Sour Cream Pear Pie

This sour cream-based fruit pie is a crowd-pleaser that’s anything but ordinary.

Apple Pie I

See how to make a simple, 5-star apple pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States