Sour Cream and Onion Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 27, 2012
I love this recipe, I make it every week for my kids' lunches. I use all purpose flour and this recipe delivers! You can add anything into this recipe and it turns out. I throw chia seeds in with the water, and add ground flax seed as well. I mix half sour cream and half yogurt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TanyaZ

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2002
This goes down as the family's favorite! Suggestions: Use 1-1/2 cups bread flour and 1-1/2 cups whole wheat to make a lighter bread. I let bread machine do whole thing. Why take out of machine to let rise & then bake ? Make sure to choose whole wheat cycle which gives more time to rise.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA
Living In: Beaver, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2003
This is so good! For the recipe I added one cup white flour and one cup wwheat. But I will have to add some more onion next time. I used 1/4 of a cup and it wasn't enough,we wanted a strong onion flavour. But it was super moist, DH toasted it in the morning as well. I baked it in the oven as requested because my bread maker is for a 2 pound loaf, so i didn't want to over bake it in my bread maker. It is so good, will for sure make it again! Thanx!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BRIDY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2006
Even though I adapted this recipe a little, I give it 5 stars. It is unique and delicious! I add some sauteed onions and also some onion flkes to make it more "onionny" since many reviewers said it wasn't. Mine turned out with a great aroma AND great flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookinNurse

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Greeneville, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA
Photo by pomplemousse
Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2009
Very moist for a ww bread, but it does taste like ww, so the bf isn't going to go for this one. I like it, though, so I'll call it a success. I added about 2 1/2 tbs of wheat gluten, and I'm pretty sure it wouldn't have risen well at all without it. I made my own Onion Soup Mix. Works wonderfully! I don't usually bake in the bread machine, and I decided not to again today. I just used the dough cycle and baked in the oven at 375 for 40 min after allowing to rise for about 30 minutes in a 200 degree oven. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pomplemousse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pendleton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Dumfries, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2005
This was a good bread recipe, although I agree with some reviewers that the onion soup mix smelled good, but the taste just wasn't there in the finished product (and my kids didnt' like the chunks of onion, or the idea of onions in bread). I made the recipe again without the soup mix, and ended up with a delicious, soft and tender whole wheat bread that was perfect with honey or apple butter. I made it into rolls and they freeze nicely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HeidiLynn75

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Heather K.
Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2009
I made this last night to go with some homemade beef stew my husband made. It went really great together! It is a very rich bread, so not something I would want all the time, but it was great with the stew. I did make a few changes. I used half bread flour & half whole wheat, as suggested by other reviewers. I also added 4 tsp. of vital wheat gluten to help it rise. I didn't have wheat germ, so that was omitted. We will definitely make this bread again. It would also make great rolls!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heather K.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Belmont, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2000
Moist tasty bread. I think substituting some rye flour for wheat would be good. Did not rise much with no white flour. Next time I would add some gluten.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2001
Very dense bread, didn't rise much. Tasty but not outstanding.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2002
One of the best wheat bread recipes I have made in my 50 years as a cook/baker. My hubby, and inlaws, grandkids, love it! I recommend this if you wish to impress somebody. I did add a bit more water to the recipe,, The dough rose beautifully and the aroma was wonderful! I made one round loaf , after it came from the oven, I put real cream sweet butter on the top of the crust. Thanks for offering this special bread recipe. !!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 17) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Banana Sour Cream Bread

Add a little sour cream for a deliciously different banana bread.

Alison's Gluten Free Bread

Tastes and looks just like wheat bread!

Whole Wheat Honey Bread

See how to make moist, homemade whole-wheat bread in your bread machine.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States