Sour Cream and Onion Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2000
Moist tasty bread. I think substituting some rye flour for wheat would be good. Did not rise much with no white flour. Next time I would add some gluten.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2001
Very dense bread, didn't rise much. Tasty but not outstanding.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2002
This goes down as the family's favorite! Suggestions: Use 1-1/2 cups bread flour and 1-1/2 cups whole wheat to make a lighter bread. I let bread machine do whole thing. Why take out of machine to let rise & then bake ? Make sure to choose whole wheat cycle which gives more time to rise.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA
Living In: Beaver, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2002
One of the best wheat bread recipes I have made in my 50 years as a cook/baker. My hubby, and inlaws, grandkids, love it! I recommend this if you wish to impress somebody. I did add a bit more water to the recipe,, The dough rose beautifully and the aroma was wonderful! I made one round loaf , after it came from the oven, I put real cream sweet butter on the top of the crust. Thanks for offering this special bread recipe. !!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2002
I modified the recipe by using equal parts of white, rye and whole wheat flour. This made a good bread but it didn't taste as good as it smelled when it was baking. The loaf was so hot when I cut the first slice that I almost burned myself.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FOXHUNTER

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2003
This is a very good recipe. I baked it in the bread machine too. I used the wheat flour made for bread machine baking. I used the "wheat" setting on the machine with a light crust. The loaf came out moist & the texture was perfect. The flavor is very savory. If only I'd had some cream cheese to spread on it... :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2003
I was disapointed with this recipe after reading all the good reviews. It smelled great while it was baking, but when it was done, my husband and I both took one bite and threw the rest out. It did have a nice texture, rose very well and was nice and moist while most recipies that use all whole wheat are more dense and dry. But the onion taste was too strong and bitter- maybe I will try this recipe again with no onion soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2003
This is so good! For the recipe I added one cup white flour and one cup wwheat. But I will have to add some more onion next time. I used 1/4 of a cup and it wasn't enough,we wanted a strong onion flavour. But it was super moist, DH toasted it in the morning as well. I baked it in the oven as requested because my bread maker is for a 2 pound loaf, so i didn't want to over bake it in my bread maker. It is so good, will for sure make it again! Thanx!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BRIDY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2005
Nice texture, moist - even the next day. But I didn't care for the flavor. It wasn't what I expected, not nearly as much onion flavor as I would have wanted. The kids ate it, though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2005
This was a good bread recipe, although I agree with some reviewers that the onion soup mix smelled good, but the taste just wasn't there in the finished product (and my kids didnt' like the chunks of onion, or the idea of onions in bread). I made the recipe again without the soup mix, and ended up with a delicious, soft and tender whole wheat bread that was perfect with honey or apple butter. I made it into rolls and they freeze nicely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HeidiLynn75

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 17) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Banana Sour Cream Bread

Add a little sour cream for a deliciously different banana bread.

Whole Wheat Honey Bread

See how to make moist, homemade whole-wheat bread in your bread machine.

Gluten-Free White Bread

See how to make gluten-free white bread in your bread machine.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States