Sour Cream and Chive Rolls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Jeff
Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2008
If I could give a slightly more detailed rating, I would give this a 5 minus. These were definately better than "pretty good" (which is my 4 star rating) but I have a couple small comments for improvement. First, I did not expect them to be so dinky... timy little rolls - sort of a "tasty treat" size. And secondly, they were soft throughout - like a dense, really good hot dog bun. I am new to bread making (my first try) so I do not know what would give the consistency I expected but just wished these had more of a crust or at least a distinction from outer to inner. As it never claimed this I would not mark it down - just an observation. Taste was great. The overall texture I enjoyed too. Still trying to get my brain around the return on my time investment tho... But I am willing to keep plugging away at that concept though after making these.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jeff

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2000
Mmmmmm... What a wonderful recipe! The rolls were light and yummy!! This will be our new Thanksgiving roll recipe! I took some to a friend's house and her family loved them, too! What a treat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2000
These were sooo yummy. Light and flavorful! My whole family loved them. They are our new every holiday rolls.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2000
Made these for Thanksgiving and they were a hit with my kids as well as with my father who I classify as "picky."
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2001
What a wonderful recipe! Turned out fluffy and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2002
Made these last week and even the residential "picky" eater loved them! I was impressed with that. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Stryker, Ohio, USA
Living In: Pittsford, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2005
These were incredibly popular at my dinner party of 20. Quite a few people asked me for the recipe or begged me to make them again. Be aware that the recipe doesn't make 50 rolls (I made 32).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Washington, D.C., USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2006
Excellent and easy for a first timer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Xannthippe

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lubbock, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2007
Very good rolls. None of my grocery stores had fresh chives so I substituted dried ones. I think it would have been much better with the fresh as it didn't have much of the chive flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sweetaddiction

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Shreveport, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2007
My son loved these rolls! even volunteered to help me make them. Great use for those chives that are so easy to grow.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 32) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Rosemary Pull-Apart Dinner Rolls

See how to make rosemary pull-apart rolls from scratch.

Cinnamon Sour Cream Biscuits

Slightly sweet and super tender biscuits studded with raisins and cinnamon.

Banana Sour Cream Bread

Add a little sour cream for a deliciously different banana bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States