Sour Cream and Chive Mashed Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2005
These potatoes were great. Sealed them in 2 & 4 portion sizes. Froze them and used them when I needed a side dish. These were excellent and no one even suspected that they had previously been frozen and reheated. Excellent recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
91 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nancy Caron

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Center Barnstead, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2005
velvety and delicious- followed recipe to a "T" - was done early- kept in oven for 1/2 an hour while rest of dinner finished- they still tasted perfect and were very pretty as a side item to the meat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
56 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: West Hartford, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Bridgewater, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2005
You can not go wrong with this recipe. What could be better than chives and sour cream with mashed potatoes. I make roasted garlic potatoes on a regular basis, and this was a great change to our usual. Will definately make again. Thanks for the post.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Momof2

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA
Living In: Florissant, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2004
I have always made our mashed potatoes this way. Sooo good! I use the sour cream occasionally but not all the time. I also add about 1/4-1/2 cup melted butter in which I sautee the green onions in for a few seconds. MMmmmm!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2008
Great alternative to standard mashed potatoes! Followed the recipe exactly but added some butter and they turned out wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2006
My entire family loved this recipe even my husband who had to eat it reheated. It was sooo creamy and delicious. I added 3 Tbsp butter and used dried chives instead of fresh. Thanks so much for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dover, Ohio, USA
Living In: Twinsburg, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2002
A very good variation on an old standby. This dish tastes excellent as is and lends itself to experimenting by adding garlic, parmesan cheese etc. The dots of green chives added some nice contrast to the white potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2006
These are good potatoes. I used yellow Finns instead of Yukons (store didn't have Yukons), light sour cream and 1% milk, but not as much as called for. I loved the fresh chives in these. Make sure to add a little salt and pepper- it really brings out the mild flavor of the chives and sour cream. Had these with Savory Garlic Marinated Steaks (this site) and it was such a delicous meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by What a Dish!

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2004
Yum Yum Yum!!! Followed recipe to the T except I added a little sprinkled cheddar cheese on top at the end. Looks, smells, and tastes delish! Very easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2008
I was looking for something different to do with mashed potatoes. I mixed the milk, sour cream and chives together in a measuring cup and let it "blend" while I peeled the potatoes and cooked them. Cheese on top wouldn't be a bad idea.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rockaway, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 117) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Garlic Mashed Potatoes

Learn how to make red-potato mashers with garlic-flavored spreadable cheese.

How to Make Mashed Potatoes

Discover the best way to make light, creamy mashed potatoes.

Ultimate Mashed Potatoes

Discover the simple secret to the most amazing holiday mashers ever.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States