Sour Cream and Chive Mashed Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Photo by LWS07
Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2009
These were great, I really liked the chives and sour cream flavor. I boiled the potatoes the night before Thanksgiving and then mashed them and did the rest the next day. So the potatoes were warm, I thought I'd warm up the milk and sour cream before mixing in. The sour cream looked nasty after warming, so I ended up just adding that in cold after all. So in order to make them hot, I put the fully mixed potatoes into a casserole, covered with tin foil, in the oven for 10-15 min on 350 (had something else cooking at that temp, so just put this in along with the other thing). That worked well, as the potatoes weren't dry when I took them out. I added a lot more chives to the potatoes than called for b/c I really like chives. I cut them with kitchen scissors (works great so long as the chives aren't wet) and mixed them with the potatoes when I added the sour cream. I then also garnished with a few remaining sprigs when I took the potatoes out of the oven. I think next time I may try adding a tbs of butter just to see how that tastes, but otherwise, I think these were great. Everyone at my Thanksgiving liked them a lot!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2009
The best mashed potatoes ever!!! So creamy and tasty!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2009
These potatoes are good. They came out creamy and smooth, which was great. The flavor was nice, but didn't blow me away.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2009
these were so simple and quick to make :) .... they were full of flavour adn especially great if you don't have a lot of time for dinner :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by homeschooler3
Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2009
These were so simple and delicious! I made a double batch and I did add 1/4 cup of butter with plenty of salt to taste and white pepper. They came out flavorful and creamy. My whole family loved them. I will be making these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by homeschooler3

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2009
These were good - but not GREAT. I added quite a bit of pepper to liven them up, and then even a little garlic powder. Hubby said he shouldve put butter on his, but we ate them plain. I would probably stick with my other favorite mashed potato recipe on here, Garlic Mashed Potatoes Secret Recipe. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by andreavyse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Troy, Michigan, USA
Living In: Westland, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2009
These were awesome! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lindale, Texas, USA
Living In: Wyoming, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Nobody'sGirl
Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2009
Mm, these were good! I was worried going into this recipe that the potatoes would have too much of a sour cream-y taste, but it was really quite mellow. It ended up being the chives that dominated the flavor. I heated up my milk and sour cream together before adding it to the potatoes. (Adding cold liquid to hot taters can make them gummy! Ew.) All in all, I don't know if I'll make them again. I won't be getting up in the night for them. But they were decently tasty, simple to make, and were a change from the normal 'plain' potatoes. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nobody'sGirl

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: May 11, 2009
This was delicious. I used with red potatoes and left the skin on and I added lots of garlic. So rich and creamy. Took it to someone's going away party and everyone raved about them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by gapch1026
Reviewed: May 2, 2009
One of my favorite ways to dress up leftover mashed potatoes, too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gapch1026

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 120) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Garlic Mashed Potatoes

Learn how to make red-potato mashers with garlic-flavored spreadable cheese.

How to Make Mashed Potatoes

Discover the best way to make light, creamy mashed potatoes.

Ultimate Mashed Potatoes

Discover the simple secret to the most amazing holiday mashers ever.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States