Sour Cream and Chive Mashed Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2007
This turned out pretty good! They were very smooth!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessi Steioff

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Clarksville, Indiana, USA
Living In: Covington, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2007
I made these potatoes for a dinner party I held last night and they were pretty good (but not incredible). The proportions of milk/sour cream/potatoes was just perfect. I felt that the potatoes could have used a lot more chives though - like double the amount called for. The sour cream flavour was definitely there as a background note, but not at all overpowering, so if you're looking for more flavour in that area, I'd sub out some of the milk and add more sour cream. I may make these again because they were good and they looked nice on the plate with the little flecks of green.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kelcampbell

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Smiths Falls, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Kemptville, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2007
I thought this was really tasty considering this is my first time making any sort of mashed potatoes. Although a lot of my guest didn't like chives, I'd recommend offering those seperate because some don't want it in there. Otherwise very good with yukon gold!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2006
These were pretty good! A little bland, DEFINITELY add salt, pepper and butter to make it better. I used whipped cream cheese with chives instead of sour cream and chives...and I sprinkled fresh chives on the top. It turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Bettendorf, Iowa, USA
Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2006
My entire family loved this recipe even my husband who had to eat it reheated. It was sooo creamy and delicious. I added 3 Tbsp butter and used dried chives instead of fresh. Thanks so much for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dover, Ohio, USA
Living In: Twinsburg, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2006
This was a great recipe - easy to follow and delicious!! I made one slight change, because I didn't have any fresh chives - so I used french onion dip instead of plain sour cream - it worked great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2006
These are good potatoes. I used yellow Finns instead of Yukons (store didn't have Yukons), light sour cream and 1% milk, but not as much as called for. I loved the fresh chives in these. Make sure to add a little salt and pepper- it really brings out the mild flavor of the chives and sour cream. Had these with Savory Garlic Marinated Steaks (this site) and it was such a delicous meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by What a Dish!

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2006
There was nothing great about this recipe. I think it needs butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amandakrunquist

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: East Liverpool, Ohio, USA
Living In: Enid, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2006
Yumm!!! I didn't have chives, so I used some very finley minced yellow onion instead. I also added a couple cloves of minced garlic. Oh ya, and I cut down the amount of milk and added some butter to make them nice a creamy. Very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chelsey Wolnowski

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Queen Charlotte, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2006
The kids who love mashed potatoes did not like these all that much. Sorry but I have to agree. Got them to eat by putting on a ton of gravy. Would probably not make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LESLEYfromWI

Displaying results 91-100 (of 117) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Garlic Mashed Potatoes

Learn how to make red-potato mashers with garlic-flavored spreadable cheese.

How to Make Mashed Potatoes

Discover the best way to make light, creamy mashed potatoes.

Ultimate Mashed Potatoes

Discover the simple secret to the most amazing holiday mashers ever.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States