Sour Cream and Chive Mashed Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2007
My guests raved about the flavor and texture of the potatoes. I did add a pinch of onion & garlic powder. Thank you for sharing this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2007
These have really become a household favorite. It's similar to a recipe I've used before with sliced green olives. I used scallions, light sour cream, and yukon gold potatoes. Seemed funny not to use butter, but it was not missed. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Knoxville, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Daytona Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Coot226
Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2007
These were very good - We had them with BBQ Baby back pork Ribs. Great side dish, would go good with any kind of meat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Coot226

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2007
This turned out pretty good! They were very smooth!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessi Steioff

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Clarksville, Indiana, USA
Living In: Covington, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2007
I made these potatoes for a dinner party I held last night and they were pretty good (but not incredible). The proportions of milk/sour cream/potatoes was just perfect. I felt that the potatoes could have used a lot more chives though - like double the amount called for. The sour cream flavour was definitely there as a background note, but not at all overpowering, so if you're looking for more flavour in that area, I'd sub out some of the milk and add more sour cream. I may make these again because they were good and they looked nice on the plate with the little flecks of green.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kelcampbell

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Smiths Falls, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Kemptville, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2007
I thought this was really tasty considering this is my first time making any sort of mashed potatoes. Although a lot of my guest didn't like chives, I'd recommend offering those seperate because some don't want it in there. Otherwise very good with yukon gold!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2006
These were pretty good! A little bland, DEFINITELY add salt, pepper and butter to make it better. I used whipped cream cheese with chives instead of sour cream and chives...and I sprinkled fresh chives on the top. It turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Bettendorf, Iowa, USA
Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2006
My entire family loved this recipe even my husband who had to eat it reheated. It was sooo creamy and delicious. I added 3 Tbsp butter and used dried chives instead of fresh. Thanks so much for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dover, Ohio, USA
Living In: Twinsburg, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2006
This was a great recipe - easy to follow and delicious!! I made one slight change, because I didn't have any fresh chives - so I used french onion dip instead of plain sour cream - it worked great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2006
These are good potatoes. I used yellow Finns instead of Yukons (store didn't have Yukons), light sour cream and 1% milk, but not as much as called for. I loved the fresh chives in these. Make sure to add a little salt and pepper- it really brings out the mild flavor of the chives and sour cream. Had these with Savory Garlic Marinated Steaks (this site) and it was such a delicous meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by What a Dish!

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 91-100 (of 120) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Garlic Mashed Potatoes

Learn how to make red-potato mashers with garlic-flavored spreadable cheese.

How to Make Mashed Potatoes

Discover the best way to make light, creamy mashed potatoes.

Perfect Mashed Potatoes

Watch a foolproof method for making the ultimate comfort food.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States