Sour Cherry Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2014
Excellent pie and so easy to make. Yummy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2014
Turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2014
For a long time, I have been wanting to taste a sour cherry pie as I love anything with a bit of a sour taste, but sour cherries were never available locally. Then recently, I discovered a place where I could finally get these. I found this recipe and made it over the Christmas holidays. I was extremely disappointed, as it was so sweet that I could not believe it was called a sour cherry pie. So this week, I decided to try it again, but to slightly change the ingredients to suit my taste. I therefore only used 1c of sugar, and added a bit of lemon juice to the filling. For the pie crust, I tried the Hot Water Pie Crust II from this website, which was fantastic! This time, the pie came out just like I had always imagined it! I had to force myself to take it to the function for which I had made it! Because it was a new recipe, I cut a small corner piece to taste - wow! Fantastic recipe, thank you for sharing it! I will soon be making it for myself!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2013
I followed the recipe exactly but didn't think this was a very good pie at all. Almost every store-bought/restaurant cherry pie I've ever had was better. I will never make it again. : (
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2013
I don't think u can make an easier or better tasting cherry pie!!!!! my family is in love with this pie!!! o so r my neighbors!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2012
I have made this pie for years with a little twist. I use minute tapioca and I use an oatmeal, brown sugar, butter topping. It has been my husband's favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2012
I ALWAYS use this recipe. I should have rated it long ago. I do have some modifications though. I add a bit more tapioca, let the mixture sit for 15 minutes then drain most of the water.This way if you lose some of the tapioca you have the extra as backup. I also use a 1/2 butter 1/2 shortening pie crust recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2011
I will never make another recipe!! Easy and delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ShirleyMay

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Apopka, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ChristinaW
Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2011
DELICIOUS cherry pie! I used 5 cups of frozen sour cherries which tasted so much fresher than canned! I also cooked the filling on the stove top and let it cool prior to filling the pie to ensure the filling set up nicely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ChristinaW

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chehalis, Washington, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Photo by Sam34
Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2011
This was my first cherry pie and it was perfect! The tapioca was an easy no stove top way to make the filling and it didn't run when I cut it. I would however add a few squeezes of lemon juice. I make a blueberry pie that uses tapioca, almond extract and lemon and I like the extra tartness that comes from the lemon. Will try next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sam34

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tampa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 23) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cherry Pie with Almond Crumb Topping

Amazing cherry pie or incredible topping for vanilla ice cream? You be the judge.

Sour Cream Pear Pie

This sour cream-based fruit pie is a crowd-pleaser that’s anything but ordinary.

Rhubarb Cherry Pie

See how to make a sweet and tart fruit pie with cherries and rhubarb.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States