Sour Cherry Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2011
Excellent. The almond is just right and not a bit overpowering. I used traditional tapioca and about 4 cups frozen tart cherries and had to increase the baking time a bit to get it to set, but it worked out great (I used foil to protect the crimping). Everyone loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2011
My husband picked the cherries in the AM, & in 1hr that evening, the pie was made and cooling on the stove.(Not sure how long it took to pit the cherries though! I used about 5- 51/2 cups of fresh cherries instead of the canned ones.) This was my first sour cherry pie, and I made if for my husband for Father's Day. I also used whipped cream for a topping instead of ice cream. This Sour Cherry Pie hit a home run for my hubby and family! I have enough cherries to make another one. Can you say yum?!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Vicki

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lancaster, Pennsylvania, USA
Photo by countrypumpkin10
Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2011
Best cherry pie recipe I've ever used. I omitted the almond extract because I am allergic to nuts but it was still delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by countrypumpkin10

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Harrisonburg, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2010
1 of the most idiot proof recipes I've ever seen. Very tasty, and great consistency as long as you don't mind the texture of the tapioca pearls (but you can totally grind those down anyway if you like.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2010
I used this recipe as a stepping off point for making a "sugar-free" version. I substituted Splenda for the sugar and it came out fine! I also substituted a 12 oz. bag of frozen unsweetened Sweet Dark Cherries for one of the cans of sour cherries.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2010
Wow, this was great! I'd never tried tapioca in a pie before but it made for a nice firm pie (when cooled). The tapioca beads were visible but I didn't notice a texture issue (but I like tapioca). Sour cherries weren't available in a can, so I used 6 c. of frozen "pie cherries" and tasted for sweetness. We gave the filling 15 minutes to rest before we put it into the crust&baking. Mm, be sure to try this! Thanks Lisawas!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Katy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2010
This "basic" recipe was rated by our entire family (cherry pie snobs) best ever experience with the following changes: We made our own butter-based pie crust; instead of almond extract we used about 1 Tbsp of fresh lemon juice. Instead of canned cherries, we used 5 cups fresh pitted tart (drained) cherries from our tree; we increased the sugar to about 2-1/2 cups, and let the mixture sit over 15 minutes to soften the tapioca.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2010
This recipe is so easy. I added a little red food coloring and it turned out beautifully. Thanks for sharing this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Mulvane, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2010
Simple and delicious! And, just as the submitter states you CAN do this in less than 10 minutes. It's the perfect recipe if you're in a hurry or you need to make a lot of pies. I baked mine in a glass dish with a baking sheet underneath to catch the excess drippings. It baked up nice and tasted great - especially with vanilla ice cream! Thanks for a great recipe Lisawas! And, thanks to everyone at AR for letting my niece Kailey and I participate in the President's Pie Challenge for the Thanksgiving webcast! We had a great time! As my niece put it, one of the best parts was getting to eat the pie at the end!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
85 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2010
SO DELICIOUS! I used 6 c frozen tart cherries (no need to defrost-use them frozen) instead of canned. Instead of all sugar, used 3/4 c sugar and 3/4 c Splenda granular (this is the Splenda that is cup for cup equivalent of sugar). No need to add extra water or liquid. Suggestion: If you have time, mix all pie ingredients together in a bowl and leave on the counter for about 10 minutes to let the cherries thaw slightly and absorb tapioca before you bake. I always do this when baking any type of fruit pie and using tapioca, and it seems to produce better/tastier pies. If you don't have time, charge ahead and get baking! My husband called for his mother and rolled his eyes back in his head over this one! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Luv2BakeGirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA
Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA

Displaying results 11-20 (of 23) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cherry Pie with Almond Crumb Topping

Amazing cherry pie or incredible topping for vanilla ice cream? You be the judge.

Sour Cream Pear Pie

This sour cream-based fruit pie is a crowd-pleaser that’s anything but ordinary.

Rhubarb Cherry Pie

See how to make a sweet and tart fruit pie with cherries and rhubarb.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States