Souper Simple Mac 'n' Cheese Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2009
This is a good quick recipe. The only step I'd modify is cooking the pasta in water first then transferring it to the cheese sauce to cook the rest of the way. It wasn't cooked all the way through.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2009
As is, this is A LOT like Mom's macaroni and cheese growing up. When I make now last minute for my family, I add 8 oz. of shredded sharp cheddar and a little dijon/Frank's Hot Sauce stirred into the mix, use all milk, and add another 4 oz. of cheese on top. To make it a full meal deal, you can add a 1/2 c. of chopped ham and 8 oz. of frozen broccoli. I also suggest boiling the pasta halfway before adding it to the mix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by McBacon
Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2009
We loved this recipe! It was super easy, creamy and tasty- just made this and put some green beans on the side, so simple!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2010
I didn't think it had much flavor but it was very simple. I just added a lot of salt and pepper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jeni

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2010
I added about 1 1/2 C shredded cheddar and also subsituted the water for more milk. I also added about 2 tbsp of butter to add some more flavor. I prefer it my way but it would be good as is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Newark, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2010
Noodles didn't cook all the way and flavor was a little dull
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2011
I was very disappointed in this recipe, it tasted OK, but not good enough, I couldn't help thinking that it tasted "fake" like it came out of a box .. and I made the big mistake of cooking it for Thanksgiving because I was pressed for time! Needless to say, none of my guests said it was good, but they kept asking me what kind of cheese I used .. it did not have that home made appearance or flavor which I love. Learned my lesson. I will stick to my old recipe and use real cheddar cheese not cheese soup. Will never make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2011
Even though I changed the recipe a bit, I was surprised at how delicious this tastes. I made 5 cups of elbow pasta, used 2 cans of soup and grated some medium cheddar cheese into the mix. I boiled the noodles separately and didn't heat the soup at all. I just mixed the condensed soup in a bowl with about 4 cans full of milk. I added salt and pepper then poured my cheese mix into the strained pasta and put it all into a casserole dish. Lastly I added shredded cheddar on top of the whole thing and baked it at 325ºF for about an hour. And the outcome was delicious. Everyone loves it! Thanks for the great base recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RobynneKalle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2011
to put it simply: its amazing. added salt for flavor of course.. but thats personal preference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JJack2

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MBKRH
Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2011
Good, but bland. I added a can of chopped green chiles, half a cup of shredded montery cheddar cheese, and a bit more milk and less water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wheaton, Illinois, USA
Living In: Naperville, Illinois, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Let the Slow Cooker Handle It
Let the Slow Cooker Handle It

The best wintertime meals need a long, slow simmer while you're doing something else.

Get Your Money's Worth
Get Your Money's Worth

Our big collection of budget recipes will leave some jingle in your pocket.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Campbell's Original Green Bean Casserole

Update the classic holiday dish with bacon, red peppers, or almonds.

Boxed Stuffing

With a few key ingredients, you can make a delicious stuffing in just 15 minutes.

Hearty Chicken Tortilla Soup

This one-pot Mexican classic is easy and packed with flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States