Sorrel Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2014
Very traditional Slavic dish. My background is Polish and its a staple in some regions. This chef recipe is very close to traditional sorrel soup and sounds great. More traditional options as reviewers noted: instead of rice. sub cubed cooked potatoes and/or hard boiled eggs (we add eggs to each bowl). Also, to thicken instead of cream, temper in 1-2 whole eggs or yolks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2014
This is a surprisingly delicious soup. I had never used sorrel before and I got some in my cna box today. I added a few potatoes as was suggested and used my stick my stick blender to blend it all up. I will be making this again and passing it along to my friends.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2013
Thank you for this recipe. I'm grateful that my dear Hungarian mother and father taught me how to make soska. We have it growing in my NJ garden. Seeds from Hungary. The taste is so much better than the sorrel plant I bought here in NJ. Anyway, we make it like this: fry 2 chopped onions in oil, add about 3-4 gallon sized ziplock bags worth of washed soska/ sorrel with stems removed. Let cook/ soften. Turn off heat. Add mixture to Vitamix ( so worth the investment), blend. Then add 5-8 tablespoons of sugar and a 1/2 cup - 1 cup of sour cream if desired. My dear dad said this was awesome. I asked my mom to help guide me in making this recipe. I know she helped me from Heaven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2012
This soup was soooo good! Yum! Substituted mimic cream for the cream for dairy free. Also used chicken broth instead of vegetable broth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2012
This was pretty good. I cut the recipe in half and thought it made about 1 1/2 servings. Subbed 1 large potato for rice and subbed milk and butter for cream. Added 1 bay leaf. It was a nice light soup and will likely make it again when I get sorrel from our co-op farm next year. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Norfolk, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Victor, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2012
Didn't even know what sorrel was until joining an organic vegetable coop. This recipe was surprisingly easy and delicious. I prepped it to the point where the cream would have been added and froze it. It thawed and reheated well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2011
Yuck! I guess that I just don't like sorrel.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2011
Delicious! Instead of rice, I used a handful of small potatoes that I needed to use up. Chopped them up, simmered until soft in broth with a bay leaf and about 3T of dried minced onion. Added sorrel and enough broth to cover. After blending, I added 1 cup of milk and 2 teaspoons of butter with the salt and pepper. The potatoes thickened it nicely. Lovely, smooth and tangy. My husband said he'd love to have this whenever the CSA sends sorrel.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2011
So tasty...I cooked as directed but placed the broth, sorrel, and rice in the food processor to puree. While in there. I used the same pot and made a roux and added about 2 tbs of butter and 1 tbs of flour and about a 1/2 cup of milk, cooked until think and bubbly. I processed the soup and added it to the pot. It was so delicious my 2 year old couldn't get enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2011
Like many others, I too received a bunch of Sorrel in my CSA share. I had never tried it before this recipe. All I can say is WOW. What a phenomenal taste for so few ingredients and such a small amount of effort. I followed the recipe exactly and used an immersion blender. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by elmonious

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 19) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Cream of Asparagus Soup

See how to make creamy fresh asparagus soup.

Slow Cooker Creamy Potato Soup

A rich, creamy potato with bacon soup you make in the slow cooker.

Rich and Simple French Onion Soup

Caramelized onions are infused in a rich broth, topped with bread and cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States