Sorrel Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2013
Thank you for this recipe. I'm grateful that my dear Hungarian mother and father taught me how to make soska. We have it growing in my NJ garden. Seeds from Hungary. The taste is so much better than the sorrel plant I bought here in NJ. Anyway, we make it like this: fry 2 chopped onions in oil, add about 3-4 gallon sized ziplock bags worth of washed soska/ sorrel with stems removed. Let cook/ soften. Turn off heat. Add mixture to Vitamix ( so worth the investment), blend. Then add 5-8 tablespoons of sugar and a 1/2 cup - 1 cup of sour cream if desired. My dear dad said this was awesome. I asked my mom to help guide me in making this recipe. I know she helped me from Heaven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2012
This soup was soooo good! Yum! Substituted mimic cream for the cream for dairy free. Also used chicken broth instead of vegetable broth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2012
This was pretty good. I cut the recipe in half and thought it made about 1 1/2 servings. Subbed 1 large potato for rice and subbed milk and butter for cream. Added 1 bay leaf. It was a nice light soup and will likely make it again when I get sorrel from our co-op farm next year. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Norfolk, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Victor, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2012
Didn't even know what sorrel was until joining an organic vegetable coop. This recipe was surprisingly easy and delicious. I prepped it to the point where the cream would have been added and froze it. It thawed and reheated well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2011
Yuck! I guess that I just don't like sorrel.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2011
Delicious! Instead of rice, I used a handful of small potatoes that I needed to use up. Chopped them up, simmered until soft in broth with a bay leaf and about 3T of dried minced onion. Added sorrel and enough broth to cover. After blending, I added 1 cup of milk and 2 teaspoons of butter with the salt and pepper. The potatoes thickened it nicely. Lovely, smooth and tangy. My husband said he'd love to have this whenever the CSA sends sorrel.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2011
So tasty...I cooked as directed but placed the broth, sorrel, and rice in the food processor to puree. While in there. I used the same pot and made a roux and added about 2 tbs of butter and 1 tbs of flour and about a 1/2 cup of milk, cooked until think and bubbly. I processed the soup and added it to the pot. It was so delicious my 2 year old couldn't get enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2011
Like many others, I too received a bunch of Sorrel in my CSA share. I had never tried it before this recipe. All I can say is WOW. What a phenomenal taste for so few ingredients and such a small amount of effort. I followed the recipe exactly and used an immersion blender. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by elmonious

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2011
The hubby loved this. Very unique and a great way to eat cooked greens without losing any of the vitamins. A delicate-flavored soup with a creamy lemony taste. I used chicken stock.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2010
I'm giving this 4 stars only because I made so many changes. I used chicken broth in place of veggie and about a cup and a half of diced potatoes instead of rice. I also added about half a small leek I had on hand as the recipe seemed a little bland. Used an immersion blender and added Vit D milk with 1tbs butter since I didn't have any cream. This was delicious! I had a little bit of fresh mozz that I diced and served with it. Even my husband, who usually scoffs at creations from our CSA share loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 17) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Cream of Asparagus Soup

See how to make creamy fresh asparagus soup.

Cabbage Fat-Burning Soup

This healthy soup has a tomato broth and seven kinds of fresh, healthy veggies.

Beef Barley Vegetable Soup

A hearty beef and barley soup loaded with plenty of vegetables.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States