S.O.P.P. Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 28, 2003
I have made a similar recipe like this for years, but instead of smoked sausage, you MUST try this with Italian sausage (hot or mild). I start this off by heating a little olive oil in a skillet and start cooking my potatoes. After the potatoes have a good start, I add the hot sausage, cut into cubes as well and cook that. This gives the potatoes a WONDERFUL flavor. I then add sliced red and green peppers and sliced onions. I put a lid on it and let it cook so that the potatoes get soft. YUMMY! This is great on a buffet for a party. I haven't made this for a while, but writing this review has made me hungry for it, and now I know what tomorrow's dinner will be!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
230 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Aliquippa, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2003
A small hint about cooking potatoes: If you like your potatoes a little more firm, salt when you start them to cook. If you like them softer, salt when they are about half way done or when finished cooking. Has always worked for me :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
173 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2003
Very good and easy to make. My boyfriend in particular thought this was the cats meow! I cooked the sausage seperatly as others have mentioned, added garlic, onion powder and 2 TBLS chicken broth when sauting the potatoes. In addition, used 1 red/1 green bell pepper for more color and variety and sprinkled some shredded cheese overall. I would make this easy & economical meal again...esspecially on busy nights! Thanks Jennifer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
69 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2003
I have been cooking this for a few years now, only I fix a much lower fat version using turkey sausage and pam cooking spray. As far as the potatoes go, I find it easiest to cook them in the microwave first and then fry them in the pan with the onions and peppers. It's much faster that way than to cook the potatoes raw in the pan. Just stir it a lot so they don't burn. I also add a lot of pepper and Creole seasoning, then top with torn up 2% cheese slices. Everything gooes together and it's soooo good, without being 800 and some calories a serving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
56 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2011
Wonderful hearty recipe and I give it a 5.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2003
My family loved this & I'm not sure it can get much easier (excluding a crock pot meal). I cut the vege oil to 1 tbsp. & used lite smoked sausage & it wasn't greasy at all. I did add garlic powder... but next time, I will add minced garlic. This is great & easy, thanks Jennifer! ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Carol Stream, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2010
Very good basic recipe....I used Andouille sausage and added some hot sauce, garlic and Cajun seasonings. The leftovers make a delicious breakfast fry up the next morning, just toss in a skillet with eggs for a good meal in a pinch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs.Doherty

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Morristown, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Hurleyville, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2003
Good side dish with eggs Sunday morning! I grated the potatoes, used 1 pound of sliced kielbasa (cooked separately because of the grease), cut the peppers to one and added garlic powder and a touch of salt.Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2003
We really enjoyed this dish. I used fresh green beans instead of the peppers though. Also, I had to cook the potatoes much longer than the suggested time. Maybe I cut the potatoes bigger than I should have. It was more like 25 minutes and I added the green beans for the last 15. The only thing I would do differently next time would be to use a lighter sausage but I will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2002
This was great! I added some garlic powder and Italian seasoning for kicks. I think maybe next time I will cook the sausage seperately, drain it on paper towels and add it in the last 1-2 min of cooking. I used turkey smoked sausage and it still rendered a lot of fat! Great recipe though, with great flavor! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 238) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Breakfast Sausage

See how easy it is to make breakfast pork sausage from scratch.

How to Make Easy Pan-Fried Pork Chops

See how to make a classic pan-fried pork chop dish in three easy steps.

Bacon Explosion

A meaty sausage and bacon filling is rolled up in a bacon blanket. Kaboom!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States