S.O.P.P. Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2012
Really good. Husband was pleased. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Paula
Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2012
I've been wanting to try this recipe for quite some time. Tonight, I needed a quick and easy recipe, and this was certainly it. I used some thawed, left-over chicken sausage I'd had in the freezer and threw this together in less than 30 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Paula

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Olive Branch, Mississippi, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2012
Fantastically simple and tasty. I did add salt, pepper, garlic and italian seasoning. I'm rating it a 5 because even though I added to it, it was simple to do. Based on comments about the potatoes, I decided to roast those separately in the oven with oil, salt, pepper and italian seasoning. I sautéed the onion, pepper and garlic with salt, pepper and italian seasoning. I added the sausage next just long enough to heat it, then the potatoes. Kids ate it up and went for seconds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Siang Yen
Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2012
I added tomatoes since I love tomatoes and it added the colors too! And I used both bratwurst sausages and mild sausages instead of smoked sausages. It tasted surprising good with only salt added on the potatoes! All flavors come from the rest of the ingredients! Definitely will cook this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by AndrewsCuteCook
Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2012
I say use the following ratio instead: 16 oz fully cooked smoked sausage, 2 medium size onions, 3 large potatoes, and 3 green bell peppers. To use one pot for this is a bit ambitious. You can, but by the time you stir everything around enough for the onions and bell peppers to cook up nicely you've somewhat mangled the potato cubes. I suggest cooking up the potatoes in a large pot and at the same time basically stir frying your sausage, onion, and bell peppers. Also, if one gets finished before the other you can turn it to low that way and avoid mushy veggies. Honestly I put just a light sprinkling of salt on the potatoes twice, and the recipe tastes great without any additional seasoning!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AndrewsCuteCook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Whittier, California, USA
Living In: Lynchburg, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2012
I make this without the peppers and add Cajun seasoning. One of our favorite meals.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2012
I added 1/2 c. chicken broth to the pan when I put in the potatoes. I added some onion powder, salt and ground pepper. For the sausage, I used 1/2 Andouille (sp?) and 1/2 Three Cheese Sausage. It smelled so good while it was cooking! I'm so glad I saw this quick and easy meal for those nights when it's crazy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by StephPage

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Manassas, Virginia, USA
Living In: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2012
This has been a staple in my home for years. If you cook the potatoes like the recipe states, it takes longer than 10 min. and uses more oil than necessary, which is why I gave 4 instead of 5 stars. I have always microwaved the potatoes just until tender. Use a little olive oil and saute the onions and peppers with a clove of garlic until tender. Then add the smoked sausage and potatoes. I use red potatoes (which are smaller) and only 1 pound of sausage. Then salt and pepper to taste. Quick and tasty meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2012
I make this same recipe but I do it in the oven! Cut the potatoes bite sized, as well as the sausage and add the peppers and onions. Put in casserole dish, sprinkle with black pepper and paprika and cover. Cook at 350 degrees for 45 minutes, uncover and bake an additional 15 minutes. Delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hawthorne, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Mahwah, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2012
I have made this many times and my family enjoys it. I usually use turkey kielbasa and also use red as well as green peppers. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SLJ6

Cooking Level: Expert


Displaying results 21-30 (of 239) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Breakfast Sausage

See how easy it is to make breakfast pork sausage from scratch.

How to Make Easy Pan-Fried Pork Chops

See how to make a classic pan-fried pork chop dish in three easy steps.

Bacon Explosion

A meaty sausage and bacon filling is rolled up in a bacon blanket. Kaboom!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States