S.O.P.P. Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: May 19, 2011
I had forgotten about S O P P! Have't had it in a while. Thanks for posting the recipe! I'll be having this Saturday nite. It's good on a Hogie bun, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Katy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2011
When things are tight, we have made this with cut up hot dogs. Start with a little Olive oil & butter, cook the potato's until tender, add a bunch of onions and stir up good. Add the cut up hot dogs and brown them somewhat and dinner is ready. Everyone loves this. We call it poormans meal. I hope you enjoy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary Alice
Living In: Bemus Point, New York, USA
Reviewed: May 19, 2011
My Mom made this for years! We just called it "that Potato, Sausage and Pepper stuff," when I was younger. There are lots of different versions on this site but this basic recipe deserves the FULL 5 stars due to it's simplicity. Don't over think this recipe, you'll appreciate the flavors more in the end.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2011
We make a variation of this often and my family loves it. It is very versatile and forgiving if you want to change up the seasoning or substitute the type of sausage or some of the vegetables.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2011
Have made this dish several times in different forms - this one is very good but prefer the zip of either hot Italian or sweet Italian sausage. Also I add some garlic becuse we love the stuff. Thanks for remininding me to start making it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newry, County Down, Northern Ireland, U.K.
Living In: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2011
We make this outdoors while camping. In a cast iron skillet on a wood flame, and oh my gosh there is something to be said about a recipe being even better cooked outdoors! We use Echrich Keilbasa and do not change a thing! Oh and I forgot most of the time we fill flour tortillas with this and add some cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2011
I have made a similar dish for years, calling it my quasi German dish. I add garbanzos and cabbage and make a glaze from vinegar, mustard, and corn startch. Since I make a large amount for the whole family, I saute things one at a time, boil the cabbage, and then combine all and add the glaze.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2011
This is delicious with any type of sausage.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2011
A healthier take. I put the unpeeled but cubed potatoes and Italian sausages drizzled with olive oil in a hot oven for 15 minutes. Then add onions, peppers, garlic, parsley, S & P to taste. Bake uncovered for an additional 1hr. 15 min. stirring occasionally. Don't let it get dry. Add more olive oil if necessary. Just as tasty and not fried!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boston, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Lake Worth, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2011
I've made a version of this and agree about using hot and mild italian sausage - really adds a zing! But what puts it over the top is adding cherry tomatoes toward the end of baking (I bake mine.) Gives it a pop!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 241) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Breakfast Sausage

See how easy it is to make breakfast pork sausage from scratch.

How to Make Easy Pan-Fried Pork Chops

See how to make a classic pan-fried pork chop dish in three easy steps.

Bacon Explosion

A meaty sausage and bacon filling is rolled up in a bacon blanket. Kaboom!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States