Sophie's Kolacky Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2009
Great cookies! I cut the recipe in half and used strawberry and peach preserves. I let the dough chill for an hour before rolling and I used a pizza cutter to cut the dough into 2 inch squares which worked out perfectly. Parchment paper also came in handy here. I now have a recipe I can use to make these at Christmas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2001
You are a life saver! I have been looking all over for this recipe. I lost mine that I had gotten from my grandma (who came from Poland also)and when she was still with us she would make them for Christmas every year. Thank You!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lockport, Illinois, USA
Living In: Geneseo, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2001
Thank you so much for this recipe! This was a recipe that my mom and my uncle grew up with! We sent these for a perfect gift to my uncle for Christmas. The dough is delicious! We used plum and poppyseed filling in the kolacky like my grandma used to.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2002
Fast, simple, light and favorful! I suggest you double the recipe and have a variety of fillings available as these disappear fast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2003
Awesome recipe! Best kolacky I ever had! I used strawberry jam instead of the apple pie filling. I made these cookies one Saturday evening and by Sunday morning they were all gone. Thanks so much for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2003
I made this for our Christmas baskets and it was great- rave reviews! I made a couple of changes that I think worked out better; I rolled out the dough to 1/16" and cut into squares. Then I filled w/ the apple and piched into little pockets. At the end I rolled into a cinnamon/sugar mix. YES!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2008
My boyfriend is Polish and I decided to surprise him with this recipe. While I rolled them a bit thick, the texture and flavor was just like he remembered from his childhood. Definitely will give them another try and measure before I cut, I have very high hopes of perfecting my kolackys with this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2010
My husband wanted cookies like his mother made for Christmas but we didn't have her recipe. I found these by the picture - thank goodness for pictures! The cookies were very easy to make. I made the second batch smaller than the first, 2" squares and they were a perfect size for Christmas cookies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2010
I have been looking for a good receipe for this for a long time now. I tried it for Easter and EVERYONE loved it!! I will keep it for all times now.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by shelliav

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Strongsville, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2010
My Mom made these for us on the holiday's also. We used apricot, almond or cream cheese mixed with a little powered sugar for our filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 29) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Jam Kolaches

These little Polish cookies can be filled with your favorite jam.

Irish Soda Bread Cookies

Turn the flavors of soda bread into quick-and-easy cookies.

Pizzelles III

See how to make traditional Italian waffle cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States