Sophie's Kolacky Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2007
I've been searching for a recipe that compares to the holiday cookies that my great grandmother made every year for our family's Christmas. Unfortunately, this was not even a close approximation. And these cookies are a bit of work, so to make a bad batch isn't fun. The only thing I can think (because I tried 3 other recipes) is that this one has TOO MUCH baking powder. If you want a flaky pastry that's going to rise, then this may be the recipe for you. I cut the cookies into squares and pinch two opposing corners together, and for that the amount of rising in this recipe amounted to sheer disaster. I gave two stars because the flavor of the dough wasn't bad, just not what I was looking for. I'll keep trying!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Wilmington, Delaware, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2006
I also rolled this out very thin, but instead of squares, cut double the number of circles and layered pie filling between the circles, then crimped the edges with a fork. They baked about 22 minutes. Delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2005
you simply cannot improve upon eastern pastry. Being Polish, I would give this 10 stars if I could..However, I have a few changes and suggestions. Pie filling is not thick enough or have strong enough taste for kolachy, so I use paste. It comes in many flavors and would make a big difference for those who didn't like this recipe. Almond, raspberry, cherry and apricot paste are favorites at my house. I also wonder if they used margerine instead of butter which make a big difference. I also did not use the baking powder as I don't want them to rise. I don't lightly dust with powdered sugar-I sift it on heavily as there is little sugar in the recipe. The recipe says it serves 18 but keep it away from the other 17 as you will want them all for yourself.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
88 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Vicky Gunkel

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Shawnee, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2003
This one was alot of work and not quite that tasty. We did not eat them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MSDORKY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: East Islip, New York, USA
Living In: Portola Hills, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2003
I made this for our Christmas baskets and it was great- rave reviews! I made a couple of changes that I think worked out better; I rolled out the dough to 1/16" and cut into squares. Then I filled w/ the apple and piched into little pockets. At the end I rolled into a cinnamon/sugar mix. YES!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2003
Awesome recipe! Best kolacky I ever had! I used strawberry jam instead of the apple pie filling. I made these cookies one Saturday evening and by Sunday morning they were all gone. Thanks so much for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2002
I took this to my Thanksgiving party and only one person liked it. I used the apple pie filling. It was very plain and simple but I didn't care for it and neither did my family. If I ever did make this again it would be with a nut filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2002
Fast, simple, light and favorful! I suggest you double the recipe and have a variety of fillings available as these disappear fast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2001
Thank you so much for this recipe! This was a recipe that my mom and my uncle grew up with! We sent these for a perfect gift to my uncle for Christmas. The dough is delicious! We used plum and poppyseed filling in the kolacky like my grandma used to.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2001
You are a life saver! I have been looking all over for this recipe. I lost mine that I had gotten from my grandma (who came from Poland also)and when she was still with us she would make them for Christmas every year. Thank You!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jeanette Smith

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lockport, Illinois, USA
Living In: Geneseo, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 32) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Focaccia

See how to make a light Italian yeast bread with delightful dimples.

How to Make Ciabatta Bread

See how to make homemade no-knead Italian ciabatta bread.

Kraut Bierocks

Try this authentic German meat-filled pastry for a light dinner or hearty snack.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States