Sopapillas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2007
yummy! these were so much fun! i must admit they are all different shapes but they tastes great.. i did them with cinnamon & sugar...we put the finishing touches with honey!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bronx, New York, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2007
Wow! These are delicious. I made them for a party and they were a huge hit. I put a dollop of whipped cream and and strawberries on top and around the tray of sopapillas - the display was beautiful and no one could stop eating the sopapillas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2007
Excellent. I am a single male who likes to cook and found this recipe fun to do. I doubled the recipe so I could play a little. I ended up using about one and a quarter cups of water and increasing my oil temp to four hundred degrees. They baked faster and soaked up less oil. They puffed up just fine for me. I'm going to enjoy this web site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2007
Delicious, easy to make sopapillas. I tried these for the first time in New Mexico, and I loved them. These tasted almost (if not exactly) like the ones I had in NW! I found that the key to making these is not frying them for too long. This ensures that the inside is soft and a little doughy, while the outside is crispy. Don't leave them in the oil until they are golden-brown, because that's just a little too long. Great recipe! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2007
Update: I think the secret is in how hot the oil is. I have been trying and trying to get puffy sopapillas. I finally settled on heating the oil about 10 min. before frying them. They puff a little bit now, so I guess that is as good as it gets! Original review: My sopapillas always turn out flat and don't puff. Anyone have any suggestions? I am still looking for that amazing sopapilla recipe that makes PUFFS.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tanaquil

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Belton, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2007
Great recipe! We topped ours with taco meat, lettuce, salsa, cheese and guacamole. For dessert, we drizzled caramel sauce, sugar, and cinnamon . This is definitely gonna be a repeat at this house!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Suwon, Kyonggi-Do, South Korea
Living In: Akasaka, Tokyo, Japan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2006
This was great. Another reason to eat at home.I spread mine with a light coat of honey,topped it with whip cream and sprinkled cinnamon. Delicioso!Gracias!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2006
I've been looking for a recipe that is easy to make and puffs up nicely. I found it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2006
These were tasty...like elephant ears. If you cut the rolled dough into triangles as instructed they turn out quite small and makes the process more time-consuming, so I sliced them in half instead. Also these need to be eaten right away. I made them for a party and made the mistake of storing them in an air-tight container. By the time they were served they had flattened and lost their crispiness. They initially had bubbled up nicely (make sure your oil is very hot.) But the samples my husband got right out of the pan were a hit! I'll make again when I have the time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mommymeggy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2006
These were the best sopapillas I have ever eaten! I rolled out my first one too thin (what can I say...I'm an over-achiever LOL) but then I added two balls together, rolled them out to about 1/8", cut them into thirds & turned them over continously while frying. They had HUGE air pockets in them...perfect for filling w/ honey mixed w/ just a bit of real maple syrup. FANTASTIC! I froze some of the balls on a cookie sheet & then put them in a freezer bag to pull out when wanted. Thanks Xenia!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
75 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by IMVINTAGE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Worth, Texas, USA
Living In: Keller, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 74) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Churros

See how to make a simple Mexican pastry.

Homemade Flour Tortillas

See how easy it is to make your own homemade flour tortillas.

Corn Tortillas

See how to make authentic corn tortillas from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States