Sopapillas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2008
Very delicious with honey drizzled on top. Very easy to make and pretty fast just messy (due to the flour)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mdavis22

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2008
Perfect sopapillas! Small amount of honey and I was in heaven!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Worth, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2008
These were extremely easy to make, i used butter instead of shortening since i don't usually keep shortening in the house, they came out perfect
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by crystlek

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2008
Very good recipe. Puffed up nicely. I tossed them in a cinnamon and sugar mixture. I don't think they would be very good cold. No problem--there weren't any left! They made a nice dessert for my authentic Mexican meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Barbie Haynes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2008
They were good. I've had them before at restaurants. Mine didn't puff really good, but they were still good. I will be making these again! So maybe next time they will puff. I serve them with powdered sugar on them and a little bowl of warmed chocolate. The way that I have always had them out to dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angela B.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2008
basic ....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2007
Very delicious and plenty of them. I read some of the reviews regarding an issue with them coming out flat. The first few I made were flat but I added more oil and that seemed to do the trick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: The Woodlands, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2007
I used shortening for frying and increased the temperature to 400 degrees. Only when they were made did we realize that we barely had any honey, so we had to get creative. We tried caramel, chocolate, and butterscotch ice cream sauces, as well as several jams and jellies. My favorite was the butterscotch sauce, but of course nothing beats good old fashioned honey. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wilco

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2007
yummy! these were so much fun! i must admit they are all different shapes but they tastes great.. i did them with cinnamon & sugar...we put the finishing touches with honey!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bronx, New York, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2007
Wow! These are delicious. I made them for a party and they were a huge hit. I put a dollop of whipped cream and and strawberries on top and around the tray of sopapillas - the display was beautiful and no one could stop eating the sopapillas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 72) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Churros

See how to make a simple Mexican pastry.

Homemade Flour Tortillas

See how easy it is to make your own homemade flour tortillas.

Corn Tortillas

See how to make authentic corn tortillas from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States