Sopapillas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2009
taste exactly like they should. you don't have to hold them under the oil if the oil is the right temp. only fold them if you want a more crispy one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ashley

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Bryan, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2009
There are so many recipes for sopapillas that are good but not authentic. This recipe is both! I like to serve these for dessert after we have had a mexican dinner. These are easy, fast, and so yummy! They puff up while they are frying so when you take a bite it leaves a hole that you can fill up with honey. A real authentic treat that uses very few ingredients. When you have nothing for dessert you probably have everything you need to whip up a batch of these sopapillas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Cassville, Missouri, USA
Living In: Branson, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2009
These are just like restaurant quality sopapillas! I couldn't believe how easy they were to make! I just sifted the ingredients into my mixer bowl, cut in the shortening and then used the dough hook while adding the water. I had to add maybe an extra Tbsp or two of water. I made the mix into 8 balls then rolled them and cut into quarters. I fried them in about 3 inches of oil that was exactly 375 degrees and they turned out fantastic! Super puffy and light!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Zimmerman, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2009
Very tasty!! I had to improvise and use mostly wheat flour, but they were still very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lindsey Myers

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2009
Yum! I made these and drizzled with honey. Now that I know that they are so easy to make, we may be in trouble :-) They were not the *best* sopapillas I have ever had, but they were a very close second...and I made them versus having them at a Mexican restaurant.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: North Pole, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2009
We loved this recipe - tossed in powdered sugar at the end, but it made way more than we needed. I'm going to make it again & use the dough for soft shell tacos.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SandyJn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: South Fork, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2009
First, let me say that I think I measured something wrong as the dough came out SUPER sticky... so much so that I couldn't handle it... it was like a paste. So we just kept adding flour, little by little, until it was the appropriate consistency. Other than that, these are delicious! A sprinkling of cinnamon-sugar and a drizzle of honey and they were just like restaurant quality! I'll definitely be making these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bam

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Gautier, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Clarksville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2009
WOW guys! This one is good and I have tried many! I did mine mith cinnamon, sugar and a drizzle of chocolate syrup. Then ate them with a fork. YUMMY! It helped alot reading the reveiws before starting to see what worked for some and what didn't. Thanks! A+ recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heidi McKeever Retano

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Sioux City, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2009
Growing up in New Mexico, this was a staple with Mexican food. My New Mexico recipe calls for 1/2 c. lukewarm water mixed with the lard and added to the sifted dry ingred. Chill in fridge. They should be rolled to 1/4" thick and fried in lard heated to 400 degrees. Brings back memories. Bite off the corner and pour honey inside. Yumm!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA
Living In: Placerville, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2008
Well, I may have done something wrong, but these were flat, hard, and much too greasy. My guess is that I didn't heat my oil long enough. They tasted ok, similar to Indian fry bread. I think I will continue my search for the perfect Sopapilla recipe. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sunny

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 31-40 (of 73) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Churros

See how to make a simple Mexican pastry.

Homemade Flour Tortillas

See how easy it is to make your own homemade flour tortillas.

Corn Tortillas

See how to make authentic corn tortillas from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States