Sopapillas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by mommyluvs2cook
Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2014
Okay my husband measured these ingredients out, but I don't think he took it seriously enough because I watched him. He just thinks 1 1/2 cups flour is good enough and that almost 2 tsp of baking soda is ok. Anyway they tasted great but only 2 puffed up as they should. I would LOVE to try this again MY WAY, following the directions to a T! We ate 3 a piece regardless, yummy, just drizzled the honey on top... So good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mommyluvs2cook

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Santa Fe, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2014
This is a great base recipe! Intead of rolling them i n sugar I rolled the dough in confectioners sugar then again when they got done frying. Folling that you can make donuts, churros, donut holes. I absolutly love this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ada, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2014
It was good. We added cinnamon sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2013
so easy, everyone love it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2013
My grandmother used to make these when I was young- not very often because we were poor and she had many mouths to feed. But this recipe takes me back to my Grandmothers kitchen when she was so happy to be able to spoil her grandchildren with a little something sweet! Thank you for sharing, they taste just like Grandma's!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Harriet

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2012
Not quite the sopapillas I was used to. I added cheese upon the honey and cinnamon, which gave it that sweet versus savory flavors. And in the oil, although I squished the little triangles flat, they just puffed up into these round little dough balls, so when you bit into the middle the breadish part overpowered the other flavors. It was a hit for my spanish project though, and they were good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2012
This was pretty easy to do and it makes a huge batch. It tastes great, too! Next time I will roll them thinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2012
my mother taught me to make sopapillas with butter, it gives it a bit more flavor. and its also pretty good if you stuff them with a simple tuna salad, with celery, tomato, onion, pickles, mayo and a tad bit of mustard! yum yum!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2012
Great! At first I baked them, but then we got a deep fryer and I deep fryed them! Great recipe! If you don't have a deep fryer you can bake them at 350 F for 10 min. They don't turn out as good but they do puff up a little bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2012
I loved the result of this recipe! It wasn't that hard either and great to bring in to spanish class, my friends loved it :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 70) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Churros

See how to make a simple Mexican pastry.

Sopapilla Cheesecake Pie

Easy to make, this yummy and unique dessert always gets raves.

How to Make Tres Leches Cake

See how to make a classic, super-moist yellow cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States