Sopapillas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2015
A surprise for my wife who grew up in the Southwest. I pressed out the balls by hand and cut in half. I fried in an enameled cast iron pot on my stove with a candy thermometer to monitor the temp. I got a better puff by turning frequently and letting the oil get closer to 400 degrees. She loved them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by musical fruit
Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2015
Admittedly, this is the first time I've tried making sopapillas, but wow are these good! I used sunflower oil instead of vegetable oil for frying (you don't get as much need to drain with sunflower). I also sprinkled a bit of sugar and cinnamon on top upon serving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by amy
Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2015
WOW!!! Great! Easy and very yummy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2015
These were perfect! I didn't use a fryer, just corn oil on the stove. I also used butter instead of shortening and I didn't have a sifter so I just mixed everything with my hands. I would say the trick is to make sure they are rolled really thinly, and mine made way more than 12 rolls/triangles. The second time I made it, I just made half the recipe and I still got 15 or so good size triangles out of it. I kept them crisp by putting them on a wire rack in the oven at 250 degrees with the door open until I was ready to serve them. This actually made them crispier and they were even better than before. I served with one scoop of ice cream, drizzled with honey and cinnamon/sugar. Perfect, easy, and I can't wait to try it with a savory dip!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mommyluvs2cook
Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2014
Okay my husband measured these ingredients out, but I don't think he took it seriously enough because I watched him. He just thinks 1 1/2 cups flour is good enough and that almost 2 tsp of baking soda is ok. Anyway they tasted great but only 2 puffed up as they should. I would LOVE to try this again MY WAY, following the directions to a T! We ate 3 a piece regardless, yummy, just drizzled the honey on top... So good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mommyluvs2cook

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Santa Fe, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2014
This is a great base recipe! Intead of rolling them i n sugar I rolled the dough in confectioners sugar then again when they got done frying. Folling that you can make donuts, churros, donut holes. I absolutly love this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ada, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2014
It was good. We added cinnamon sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2013
so easy, everyone love it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2013
My grandmother used to make these when I was young- not very often because we were poor and she had many mouths to feed. But this recipe takes me back to my Grandmothers kitchen when she was so happy to be able to spoil her grandchildren with a little something sweet! Thank you for sharing, they taste just like Grandma's!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Harriet

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2012
Not quite the sopapillas I was used to. I added cheese upon the honey and cinnamon, which gave it that sweet versus savory flavors. And in the oil, although I squished the little triangles flat, they just puffed up into these round little dough balls, so when you bit into the middle the breadish part overpowered the other flavors. It was a hit for my spanish project though, and they were good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 74) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Churros

See how to make a simple Mexican pastry.

Homemade Flour Tortillas

See how easy it is to make your own homemade flour tortillas.

Corn Tortillas

See how to make authentic corn tortillas from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States