Sopapillas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2007
Great recipe! We topped ours with taco meat, lettuce, salsa, cheese and guacamole. For dessert, we drizzled caramel sauce, sugar, and cinnamon . This is definitely gonna be a repeat at this house!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Suwon, Kyonggi-Do, South Korea
Living In: Akasaka, Tokyo, Japan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2006
This was great. Another reason to eat at home.I spread mine with a light coat of honey,topped it with whip cream and sprinkled cinnamon. Delicioso!Gracias!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2006
I've been looking for a recipe that is easy to make and puffs up nicely. I found it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2006
These were tasty...like elephant ears. If you cut the rolled dough into triangles as instructed they turn out quite small and makes the process more time-consuming, so I sliced them in half instead. Also these need to be eaten right away. I made them for a party and made the mistake of storing them in an air-tight container. By the time they were served they had flattened and lost their crispiness. They initially had bubbled up nicely (make sure your oil is very hot.) But the samples my husband got right out of the pan were a hit! I'll make again when I have the time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mommymeggy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2006
These were the best sopapillas I have ever eaten! I rolled out my first one too thin (what can I say...I'm an over-achiever LOL) but then I added two balls together, rolled them out to about 1/8", cut them into thirds & turned them over continously while frying. They had HUGE air pockets in them...perfect for filling w/ honey mixed w/ just a bit of real maple syrup. FANTASTIC! I froze some of the balls on a cookie sheet & then put them in a freezer bag to pull out when wanted. Thanks Xenia!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
73 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by IMVINTAGE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Worth, Texas, USA
Living In: Keller, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2006
Delicious! I put confectioners' sugar, cinnamon, and honey on top. Mmm Mmm...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GalantaEire

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2006
Wonderful! I made these for Cinco do Mayo for some friends, and coated them with honey or cinnamon and sugar. They couldn't eat them fast enough!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2006
The taste was pretty good. However, they didn't puff up the way I wanted them to. Next time I will roll them pretty thin to see how they will turn out. Thanks for the recipe...pretty EZ! I have tried the recipe again and rolling the dough thin and flipping several times as soon as you drop them in the oil does the trick. They puff up beautifully. I only fried two at a time so that I could continuously flip them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2006
Yummy, we put powdered sugar and chocolate sauce over them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Alexandria, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2006
Delicious. They come out crispy on the outside and chewy on the inside and not the least bit greasy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MEEMEEBULUGA

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 69) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Churros

See how to make a simple Mexican pastry.

Homemade Flour Tortillas

See how easy it is to make your own homemade flour tortillas.

Corn Tortillas

See how to make authentic corn tortillas from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States