Sopapillas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: May 18, 2008
Very good recipe. Puffed up nicely. I tossed them in a cinnamon and sugar mixture. I don't think they would be very good cold. No problem--there weren't any left! They made a nice dessert for my authentic Mexican meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Barbie Haynes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2008
They were good. I've had them before at restaurants. Mine didn't puff really good, but they were still good. I will be making these again! So maybe next time they will puff. I serve them with powdered sugar on them and a little bowl of warmed chocolate. The way that I have always had them out to dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angela B.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2008
basic ....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2007
Very delicious and plenty of them. I read some of the reviews regarding an issue with them coming out flat. The first few I made were flat but I added more oil and that seemed to do the trick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: The Woodlands, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2007
I used shortening for frying and increased the temperature to 400 degrees. Only when they were made did we realize that we barely had any honey, so we had to get creative. We tried caramel, chocolate, and butterscotch ice cream sauces, as well as several jams and jellies. My favorite was the butterscotch sauce, but of course nothing beats good old fashioned honey. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wilco

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2007
yummy! these were so much fun! i must admit they are all different shapes but they tastes great.. i did them with cinnamon & sugar...we put the finishing touches with honey!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bronx, New York, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2007
Wow! These are delicious. I made them for a party and they were a huge hit. I put a dollop of whipped cream and and strawberries on top and around the tray of sopapillas - the display was beautiful and no one could stop eating the sopapillas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2007
Excellent. I am a single male who likes to cook and found this recipe fun to do. I doubled the recipe so I could play a little. I ended up using about one and a quarter cups of water and increasing my oil temp to four hundred degrees. They baked faster and soaked up less oil. They puffed up just fine for me. I'm going to enjoy this web site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2007
Delicious, easy to make sopapillas. I tried these for the first time in New Mexico, and I loved them. These tasted almost (if not exactly) like the ones I had in NW! I found that the key to making these is not frying them for too long. This ensures that the inside is soft and a little doughy, while the outside is crispy. Don't leave them in the oil until they are golden-brown, because that's just a little too long. Great recipe! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2007
Update: I think the secret is in how hot the oil is. I have been trying and trying to get puffy sopapillas. I finally settled on heating the oil about 10 min. before frying them. They puff a little bit now, so I guess that is as good as it gets! Original review: My sopapillas always turn out flat and don't puff. Anyone have any suggestions? I am still looking for that amazing sopapilla recipe that makes PUFFS.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tanaquil

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Belton, Texas, USA

Displaying results 41-50 (of 69) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Churros

See how to make a simple Mexican pastry.

Homemade Flour Tortillas

See how easy it is to make your own homemade flour tortillas.

Corn Tortillas

See how to make authentic corn tortillas from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States