Sopapillas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: May 3, 2009
Very tasty!! I had to improvise and use mostly wheat flour, but they were still very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lindsey Myers

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2009
Yum! I made these and drizzled with honey. Now that I know that they are so easy to make, we may be in trouble :-) They were not the *best* sopapillas I have ever had, but they were a very close second...and I made them versus having them at a Mexican restaurant.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: North Pole, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2009
We loved this recipe - tossed in powdered sugar at the end, but it made way more than we needed. I'm going to make it again & use the dough for soft shell tacos.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SandyJn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: South Fork, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2009
First, let me say that I think I measured something wrong as the dough came out SUPER sticky... so much so that I couldn't handle it... it was like a paste. So we just kept adding flour, little by little, until it was the appropriate consistency. Other than that, these are delicious! A sprinkling of cinnamon-sugar and a drizzle of honey and they were just like restaurant quality! I'll definitely be making these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bam

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Gautier, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Clarksville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2009
WOW guys! This one is good and I have tried many! I did mine mith cinnamon, sugar and a drizzle of chocolate syrup. Then ate them with a fork. YUMMY! It helped alot reading the reveiws before starting to see what worked for some and what didn't. Thanks! A+ recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heidi McKeever Retano

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Sioux City, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2009
Growing up in New Mexico, this was a staple with Mexican food. My New Mexico recipe calls for 1/2 c. lukewarm water mixed with the lard and added to the sifted dry ingred. Chill in fridge. They should be rolled to 1/4" thick and fried in lard heated to 400 degrees. Brings back memories. Bite off the corner and pour honey inside. Yumm!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA
Living In: Placerville, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2008
Well, I may have done something wrong, but these were flat, hard, and much too greasy. My guess is that I didn't heat my oil long enough. They tasted ok, similar to Indian fry bread. I think I will continue my search for the perfect Sopapilla recipe. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sunny

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2008
My husband had sopapillas at work and wanted me to make them. This recipe was easy and they turned out great, first time. Make sure the oil is the right temperature before you start and they turn out even better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Boise, Idaho, USA
Living In: Nampa, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2008
Very delicious with honey drizzled on top. Very easy to make and pretty fast just messy (due to the flour)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mdavis22

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2008
Perfect sopapillas! Small amount of honey and I was in heaven!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Worth, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 70) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Churros

See how to make a simple Mexican pastry.

Homemade Flour Tortillas

See how easy it is to make your own homemade flour tortillas.

Corn Tortillas

See how to make authentic corn tortillas from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States