Sopapilla Cheesecake Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2013
I loved this recipe, and I don't understand the negative reviews. I don't have what I would consider a sweet tooth, but I didn't find it too sweet or sugary in any way. Maybe some of the contributors didn't bake it enough? I did think the portions called for in the recipe were a little large, considering the ingredients. I also thought the recipe made too much, so I cut it in half. I used a 9" x 9" Pyrex dish that I had lightly buttered and pressed half the dough triangles into it. Then I spread the cream cheese mixture over that and placed the other dough triangles (that I had pressed into a square on a cutting board) on top. For the topping, I used brown sugar instead of white. I baked it for 35 minutes, and I think another 3-5 minutes would have made it even better. I drizzled the honey on top immediately after I took it out of the oven and let it cool for 30 minutes. I cut it into 9 pieces, and enjoyed a piece. It's all I can do not to eat another piece right now. This recipe is definitely a winner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2013
I made this for a pot luck, and other than the inherent messiness of crescent roll perforated dough (my local store doesn't carry the seamless sheets, sadly), this was way more delicious than I thought possible with the pre-made dough. It was a total hit with the party-goers, so much so that I never took a photo. The honey is the bit that seals it as a sopapilla-inspired dish. I believe a smidgen of honey drizzled under the served slices would enhance it more than the drizzle on top. Still, undeniably a hit and well worth the time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2013
Not only did I love this recipe, everyone I've shared it with has loved it as well. EXCELLENT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deb2887
Home Town: Niagara Falls, New York, USA
Living In: Albion, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2013
I LOVED THIS RECIPE! Sooooo delicious! It was easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cristol_the_pistol
Home Town: Oceanside, California, USA
Living In: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2013
Even though this recipe has been in my recipe box forever, I made this on a whim tonight. As an avid review reader, I didn't have time to read many, so I made it pretty much as directed (odd for me). After reading more reviews, I absolutely agree that it needs the 3rd package of cream cheese (I added cinnamon to mine since I love it) and the topping can be reduced as well. I made my topping with 1/4 cup butter and half white and brown sugars, which I'd do again. I thought the honey would make this TOO sweet, so I cut the squares and added the honey to each individual piece. It was perfect! Will definitely make this again and again with a few minor tweaks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shannon

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Omaha, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Aurora, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2013
It was delicious and super easy to make! I didn't have Mexican vanilla so I just used regular vanilla extract and left out the honey. Also, 1/2 cup of butter was too much and made the crust a little too gooey. I will use less butter next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2013
Everyone who tried this said that it was the best, and my mom, who has never liked cheesecake, said that she could eat it this way. Very, Very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2013
Out of this world amazing! This is the most request desert in my house and all of my guest want the recipe. My last guest said that it was the best desert she thinks she has ever had and one of the best tasting cheesecakes she has ever had. I have made this several times already and will be making it for many years to come! Thanks for the amazing recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2013
Left off the honey because I made this for a work pot luck. Everyone loves these and had multiple requests for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lil' Punkin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2013
Delicioso !!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 1,194) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sopapilla Cheesecake Pie

Easy to make, this yummy and unique dessert always gets raves.

Sopapilla Cheesecake Dessert

A deliciously different cheesecake with a Mexican twist.

Spring Mini Cheesecake

These individual desserts are as fun as they are delicious.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States