Sopapilla Cheesecake Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2013
I've made this recipe several times now and it never let's me down! I use plain vanilla instead of Mexican vanilla extract and occasionally, I make my own crescent dough from scratch. Quick, easy, and oh so delicious! Thanks for posting ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Coolcam
Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2013
Attempt #1. After defrosting I had the cream cheese with absolutely changed consistence. It was not creamy, but watery and very grainy. Thus I didn't expect that I would cook anything great from it. Anyway I determined to bake sopapilla cheesecake. Here are those alternations I made to cook it: 1. I beat the defrost cream cheese very well in order to get rid of all these grains. It was in vain. It's just impossible to get rid of them completely. It does not matter. 2. Blended it with 1 cup (120 g) of powdered sugar, vanilla, 1 egg and 1/4 cup of cornstarch. . It was still very liquid. Whatever. 3. Poured this medley on the piece of flaky pastry put in 9x13 cake pan (just regular 1-2-3 pastry). I didn't cover my pie with another piece of flaky dough, cause the filling was very liquid due to this defrost cream cheese. So I put neither butter nor sugar over it. I just threw it into the oven for about 50 minutes. In the end I got the extremely delicious dessert, my dad said he had never eaten anythng better. No doubts it was not a true sopapilla cheesecake, but it was quite a good way to get rid of this cream cheese. Will do it again with fresh cream cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Valeria

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2013
Delicious! I also had to keep it in the oven an extra 15min. It is so easy to make & will be a family favorite. I added extra vanilla extract & cinnamon. It turned out perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2013
This is the most awesome recipe ever...I've taken it to a family gathering, to work and just made it for us at home. I always get rave reviews and have to share the recipe. Thanks for a good one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Wichita, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2013
I've made this twice now!! This is my favorite dessert to make!! It's so easy to make!! When I had my husband try it for the 1st time he asked why I have never made this before!! Everyone who has tried it loves it!! It's absolutely delicious!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2013
Absolutely delicious, especially when its slightly warm! Will definitely be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2013
I've made this recipe three times, and each time it gets rave reviews. Delicious, fairly easy to put together, but people think it must have been difficult. I scale back on the butter and sugar on top of the pastry (1/2 cup sugar, 1/4 cup butter)and it is perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2013
This recipe is great! I usually don't do the honey drizzle, and it is just as delicious without the extra sugar. I recently tried a fruity twist that was a hit - add lemon zest, lemon juice, cinnamon and sugar to the creamcheese mixture, and top the creamcheese with fresh blueberries before laying down the top crust. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2013
Breaking it down - the preparation is very kid friendly so my girls were able to help out a lot and that's important to me. The recipe itself is very simple and the cost is about $6 to $8 for a 9x13 pan. It will make your house smell wonderful and it does not make a big mess. The bottom line to any recipe is the taste and this one delivers! This one will be in the bake-n-take party / event lineup. A true 5 star champ! *note* I did not use the honey so not sure what using it adds but it was fine without it. I may add it next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Harvest, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2013
I (tried to)follow this recipe exactly and it was awesome! Actually, I forgot the honey and it was still fantastic. I also used regular vanilla, because I could not find Mexican vanilla. I brought it to a Mexican themed potluck and it went fast, everyone loved it and wanted more. We topped it with whipped cream, ice cream would have gone well, too. I will make it again and try it with the honey.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 1,195) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sopapilla Cheesecake Pie

Easy to make, this yummy and unique dessert always gets raves.

Sopapilla Cheesecake Dessert

A deliciously different cheesecake with a Mexican twist.

Spring Mini Cheesecake

These individual desserts are as fun as they are delicious.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States