Sopapilla Cheesecake Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2014
Great recipe. I was looking for a Mexican dessert for an impromptu Mexican dinner at my house. I had the ingredients for the recipe on hand, it was easy/quick to fix and the outcome was a hit with my dinner guests.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ibe1cent

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Alexandria, Virginia, USA
Living In: The Villages, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2014
Loved it! Easy and good just as written. A pot luck favourite at my work. Just adjust for the level of sweetness you want.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TIGGSTER

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Scarborough, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Ajax, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2014
This recipe is to die for! Made this dessert for a "Mexican night" themed get-together. There was not a crumb left in the pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Lee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2014
Loved it! So easy and quick to make. Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2014
This is really delicious, but there are changes that you MUST make. I followed other reviewers suggestions and cut down the sugar in the cream cheese by 1/3 cup, and it was still borderline too sweet. As written, I think it would be overwhelmingly sugary. You could add another block of cream cheese to make more filling (it's a thin layer as written, in the pan size suggested) but keep all other ingredients as the same and it would be perfect I think. I also cut the butter for the topping by almost 1/2 and it was perfect, cut the sugar in the topping down to 1/3 cup, and honestly, could cut more from that as well. Then I made additional changes simply to cut fat and calories -used 1 block of Greek cream cheese (it's really good, and next time I will substitute it entirely and cut 320 calories and 48g of fat from the entire desert and add 16g of protein!) I also used low fat crescent rolls. With the other reductions of butter and sugar that I made, and cutting into 16 serv (about the size of an average brownie serving) I got them down to 255 cal and 13g of fat (as written 480 cal per!) Substituting all Greek cream cheese will drop them about another 20 calories or so. I also left off the honey so we can just put it on individual pieces. I didn't try it tonight, but I will tomorrow :-) My rating is entirely based on the fact that the sugar and butter amounts as written are WAY off, and if I had made it as written, it would have been too sweet and greasy on top from the butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lilamonster
Living In: Castle Rock, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2014
Oh my goodness!!! This recipe is so simple but so delicious!! I made it for my family and everyone loved it! Thanks for the awesome recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2014
Outstanding! This is delicious. I would add 1 egg to the cream cheese mix. Cool well before eating.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2014
This was the first dessert to go at the dessert table! Will definitely make again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2014
Love it just the way it is!!! Delicious!! Thank you for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2014
I love cheesecake so I figured these would fit the craving. They were pretty good and I would make them again. HOWEVER, they seemed to have a way too much butter because after I baked them the melted butter pooled on top of the crescent dough which was kinda gross. I did half the recipe and used a 8x8 pan, so maybe this was the root of the problem, but I find that hard to believe. After the bars cooled the butter soaked in. I don't mind a lot of butter in a recipe if it fits its purpose. I would probably use half the butter dotted on top next time. You could probably get away with skipping it altogether and just sprinkling the top with cinnamon-sugar to save on calories.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by parkermama

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Redding, California, USA
Living In: Hammonton, New Jersey, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 1,194) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sopapilla Cheesecake Pie

Easy to make, this yummy and unique dessert always gets raves.

Sopapilla Cheesecake Dessert

A deliciously different cheesecake with a Mexican twist.

Spring Mini Cheesecake

These individual desserts are as fun as they are delicious.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States