Sopa De Lima (Mexican Lime Soup) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2010
Made this last night because limes were on sale 9/$1 and I picked up a bunch not having the slightest idea what I would use them for. The soup is very light so I would definitely add something to it so it's not mostly broth. I chose to add cooked noodles..but I think it still needs something else..just not exactly sure what. I will also cut back on the amount of limes used..since 6 was too strong for our taste. Thanks for sharing the recipe..it was nice to try something new!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SummerDavis

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oak Forest, Illinois, USA
Living In: Frankfort, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2010
Yummy, yummy, yummy! My family and friends are still talking about this one. I served it with brazillian lemonade and southwestern-style egg rolls. Great meal!!! I tried some of this at work in the cafeteria, and decided to make it myself because it was so good. All of my co-workers said this was the better tasting version. I added the juice of 3 more limes just to really give it an extra kick. Next time I might add some corn or black beans to give it more substance.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2010
This was fantastic! I added 2 cans of white hominy and a bag of frozen corn. Even better the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Denton, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2010
Indeed light & refreshing...I prepared with chicken thighs and 2 large jalapenos. Very good - thanks for sharing. I ate half a bowl before realizing I forgot the cilantro - good without, even better with. I love limes too, BTW. :D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kate65

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2010
I followed the recipe exactly and the aftertaste was far too bitter for us. I really wanted to love this as it was easy to prepare and very healthy. I ate one bowl and threw out the rest. Maybe use less lime? I know I am in the minority here, but my boyfriend and I really didn't care for it. Just had a really strong, unpleasant bitter taste. Thank you, though! It is always fun trying new things.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MOLLE888

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bethesda, Maryland, USA
Living In: Fairfax, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: May 29, 2010
This made a nice light meal. Was easy to prepare, I liked it and might make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michelle Nelson

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2010
Great taste! Definitely serve it with tortilla chips and sour cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: May 4, 2010
I like the flavor of this soup alot. I sauteed the onion, garlic and chicken together before adding it to the chicken stock. I know you're thinking it's too much lime but it's not - the flavor comes out really good. Make sure you use plenty of fresh cilantro - it's essential. This soup tastes really fresh with a little bit of a kick. I will make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2010
I liked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2010
great soup! easy to make and loved by all in my house!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 56) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Six-Can Chicken Tortilla Soup

You won't believe how tasty this easy soup is. Serve with chips.

Slow Cooker Chicken Taco Soup

Making this chicken taco soup is a snap in the slow cooker.

Chicken Tortilla Soup I

See how to make a quick, 5-star chicken soup that’s filling and delicious.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States