Sopa De Lima (Mexican Lime Soup) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2012
I have not tried this recipe but just got back from Mexico where I enjoyed Mayan Lime Soup. The soup I had in Mexico also had strips of tortilla chips in it. For those wanting a little more substance in their soup, that would be worth trying.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2012
I first had Lime Soup on my honeymoon in Riviera Maya, Mexico in February 2008. I had it again on vacation in Cancun, Mexico in February of 2011. This took me right back. The flavors and textures are just like I remember. It's such a light and refreshing soup. We even loved it in 80-degree weather! I still giggle when I think about one of our tour guides convincing a teenaged tourist that the soup has iguana in it! lol
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by amandak23k
Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2011
I used already cooked chicken breast that was shredded and homemade chicken broth. I used a red pepper and yellow onion. I didn't have any good fresh tomatoes so I used two cans of mexican stewed tomatoes with their juices and added pickled jalapenos in place of the green chile pepper. Couple changes but still tasted fab!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amandak23k

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2011
Really delicious!!! LOVE the lime flavor! I did add carrots, celery, potatoes and cumin like others did but it would have been great without as well. Makes a ton!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by merina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2011
Wow. Wow. Wow. Love this recipe to pieces!! Perfect for summer!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ali_B

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Klein, Texas, USA
Living In: Montgomery, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2011
Delicious. I added carrots, celery and potatoes to make it heartier, and used home made stock. Will definitely make this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by yamsicle

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Christine
Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2011
This soup is fresh, healthy, and delicious! This will definately be a go-to meal for me, it was very easy to make. I know I will crave this on gloomy days. I did make a few changes. First, I used 6 Roma tomatoes instead of 2 large tomatoes because most Mexican dishes I make call for Roma. Second, I added a bit of cayenne pepper for a little extra spice. The last thing I changed was that I served with cubed avocado on top which really made the soup taste finished to me (I tried with and without). I highly recommend serving with avocado. Also, it does have a very tangy lime flavor so if you aren't crazy about fresh lime (I am) try using 4 or 5 limes instead. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christine

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2011
I went to Mexico on vacation and had lime soup for the first time. When I got back, I knew I had to find a recipe! I altered only slightly by substituting a can of Rotel tomatoes with green chilies and only 4 limes. Next time I think I'll leave out the green onion, as I didn't taste it and had a lot left over that I won't use. I ate with some Multigrain Tostitos on top, and it was excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2011
This soup was absolutely amazing!! Of course I had to alter some of the ingredients but overall what a tasty light cuisine. Instead of chili peppers I added a couple of anaheim peppers to give it more spice. I also added squash and zuchinni to give it more color.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2011
I added posole to it...or what is also called hominy, it was so good we ate it all on the first day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 61) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Six-Can Chicken Tortilla Soup

You won't believe how tasty this easy soup is. Serve with chips.

Chicken Tortilla Soup I

See how to make a quick, 5-star chicken soup that’s filling and delicious.

Slow Cooker Chicken Tortilla Soup

Make this tasty chicken tortilla soup in your slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States