Sopa De Lima (Mexican Lime Soup) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2015
I love soups and this one is a winner! It got rave reviews from everyone and I will definitely make it again. I simplified the recipe purely for time-saving. I used a small (398 ml) can of diced tomatoes, lime juice concentrate (12 tbsp) and chile pepper paste instead of fresh. I also added a half of a can of black beans (drained and rinsed) to make the soup more of a meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2015
I used 14 cups stock instead of 9, and when I added the tomato mix I also added 6 cups of water, 1 cup wild rice, and 2 cups white rice. The extra water was to counteract the excess steam being released while the rice was cooking. This increased the number of servings to 12.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2014
Very light and flavorful! Also very versatile as many reviewers have noted.I adjusted the recipe to make 3 servings because I had two chicken breasts I needed to use up, and rounded all the other ingredients up (whole onion instead of 3/8, etc.) I dusted the breasts with S&P, garlic powder and flour and sauteed them in butter over medium heat 5 mins per side to carmelize them before slicing them. Didn't have fresh tomatoes, I used a can of Mexican stewed tomatoes with chilis. While the (adjusted) recipe said to juice 2-1/4 limes and to put 1/4 lime in the soup, I used the juice & zest of 1 large lime and put 1/2 lime in the soup. The key to using limes is to taste after each addition, because the acidity of other ingredients you use affects the strength and bitterness of the lime. The balance of acidity was perfect, the zest adds more lime flavor than the juice does. Used fresh herbs since I grow these, adjusted the amount of fresh oregano down a smidge. It added a wonderful savory note. Since I used canned tomatoes, I didn't add any S&P until the end, I added maybe 1/2 tsp Adobo seasoning, which is salty. Instead of tortilla chips, I fried strips of small white corn tortillas in hot grapeseed oil (healthy, almost tasteless vegetable oil with a high smoking point) until puffy and browned, mixed up some S&P, chili powder & cumin and sprinkled over strips. Served with lots of fresh cilantro & strips. My husband, who isn't a chicken soup lover, loved it! Will make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2014
I can't thank you enough for posting this recipe. I had a recipe which was extremely similar to this which I copied out of a cookbook when I was in high school. The recipe made it through several moves to different apartments. I made it for my now-husband when we had just started dating, and he loved it. My husband doesn't get excited about very much at all, but he loved this soup. Well after getting married and moving to our first apartment together, I found I had lost the recipe! I've been hunting for it online ever since. The only major difference is the addition of green bell pepper. And the onion, garlic, peppers (both the bell peppers and the two serranos I used for the "green chilies") get sauteed in vegetable oil after cooking the chicken in stock. Then I add the stock back in, add the tomatoes, shredded chicken, and all the seasonings (which- I love this blend of flavors- super bright citrus but underneath that is a very full-flavor broth!) I made a batch and a half, remembering how quickly we went through this soup- and it just barely fit in my large stockpot. It did need more lime juice than the recipe calls for- not sure how much I used, but after juicing 9 limes I just got out the squeeze bottle of lime juice- and a little bit more salt. This is a winner and so happy to have found it again- THANK YOU!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amanda Morrow

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2013
Amazing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JAMIE LAWSON

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2013
This is a year round, healthy, delicious soup, hot or cold. Warning, not for those who like soup out of the can!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2013
Made this up at home, simply threw everything into a crock pot, left it on low for 6 hours, shredded the chicken when it was done. After reading some other reviews I only added 4 limes, it was still a bit strong, will only go with 2.5 to 3 next time. Also, simply used a 14oz can of diced tomatos. A good simple recipe, a tasty spin on plain old chicken soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by scottjl

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2013
Amazing. Just follow the recipe exactly. I served it with rice on the side to put into the soup. You could choose tacos or some other starchy accompaniment, if you are going to use this as a one-dish meal. Just serve a starter Mexican salad. Belva in Winnipeg.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2013
I made this soup yesterday and although I found it too limy (that's not correct), my son and daughter in law loved it. My son is on a diabetic diet and this is so good for him. I made it just as shown and I will make it again. Thanks for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Chapleau, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Newmarket, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2013
I make this soup all the time. i love the flavor of chicken and lime. i think it is a must to add half of lime when cooking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by redcat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Savannah, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 58) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Six-Can Chicken Tortilla Soup

You won't believe how tasty this easy soup is. Serve with chips.

Chicken Tortilla Soup I

See how to make a quick, 5-star chicken soup that’s filling and delicious.

Slow Cooker Chicken Tortilla Soup

Make this tasty chicken tortilla soup in your slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States