Sopa de Fideos Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2011
I made this as directed with no changes and found it quite bland. My kids didnt like it at all. It might help to add some jalepenos to the onions and garlic with the tomatoes when blending in the blender. I ended up adding a bit of cheese whiz to my bowl.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Amarillo, Texas, USA
Living In: Sugar Land, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2011
Simple fast soup. Use the mexican chicken broth. It is mixed w flavorful spices that makes it very yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sookie's Kitchen

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2012
YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Harmonica

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2013
Very yummy!!! I left out the cilantro,cause I'm not a fan of cilantro. I also added a tsp of a seasoning salt:) it was super yummy!! Thanks for sharing! My family loved it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Lindseye117
Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2013
This recipe tastes so authentic and delicious!! The only changes I made was to add a little more garlic, and instead of cans of chicken broth, I used just a tablespoon of powdered chicken bouillon. I also added salt to my blender before I pureed my tomato mixture. I would have never thought to use canned tomatoes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lindseye117

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lake Charles, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Friendswood, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2013
Good stuff. I made a few modifications based on other folks' comments that it was bland. 1) I added half a bell pepper to the blender, in addition to the tomato and onion. 2) I used two cans of chicken broth rather than three, to keep it thick. 3) I put in a sprinkle of my favourite gourmet chili powder and some adobo powder (which is basically garlic powder, cumin, and salt). 4) Finally, rather than cooking the cilantro, I tore it up and put it on top of the soup in the serving bowls. I also added grated cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by imaflipn
Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2013
Very good! I love this soup, but because of heart failure, I'm on a very sodium restrictive diet. So I made exactly as written, but made with low-sodium chicken broth, unsalted diced tomatoes with oregano, basil and garlic, and it was goooood! To the average person it's probably a little bland, but for me it was perfect and I got my soup fix I was craving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by imaflipn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2014
actually upon going over those ingredients I do a lot differently as far as measurements go .. this soup is superb. I use 3 tomatoes, a sliver of white onion (about 1/8 of it), 3 cloves of garlic (or more, I'm a garlic nut) and chicken broth .. blend all of the ingredients and cook it down till it reduces a few times and the flavor marries. Of course salt & pepper to taste. Sometimes I'll add egg noodles but it tastes fine w/o.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2014
Made as directed and it was pretty good. I think this is more of a base to create many different types of Fideo. Simmer down more and it is more of how my Mexican mother-in-law makes it for the grand babies. Add more chicken broth and slightly less tomato and its more of how I like it, broth-ier. I will add some shredded chicken fajitas and make it more of a smokey tex-mex flavor soup next time. Mexican spouse LOVED it! This is a good start of a lot of different style recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Freeport, Illinois, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Reviewed: May 9, 2014
Such simple ingredients, yet such an impactful and delicate flavor. I prefer to use the cilantro fresh as a garnish on top. mmm!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 11) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cinco de Mayo Salsa Cruda

See Chef Juan’s secret recipe for Cinco de Mayo-worthy homemade salsa cruda.

Pico de Gallo

See how to make a simple and super-fresh Mexican salsa.

Salsa de Tomatillo

A simple, authentic green salsa with tomatillos, onions, cilantro, and garlic.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States