Sonoran Tilapia Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2010
Outstanding! I simplified the ingredients list by eliminating Anaheim chile peppers, cayenne pepper, oregano, red pepper flakes and Worcestershire sauce. Also eliminated salt and reduced oil to 2 tablespoons (just enough to cover the bottom of the baking dish and brush onto the fish). Substituted a can of diced tomatoes for the plum tomatoes. I didn't have Creole Seasoning, so I threw in a combination of Cajun and Chipotle spices, Ancho Chili Powder, and I brushed some Creole Mustard onto the fish. Served with a side of Tri-colored Couscous and asparagus.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2010
I reduced the amount of oil used to lighten it up a bit and cut back on some of the salt as well - delicious and perfectly spicy - wonderful recips and sure to be a future favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2010
I loved this dish, as did hubby. I left out the red pepper and half the cayenne to cut down on the spice, and I left out the wine since I didn't have any and don't like it anyway. I used lemon instead of lime and dried cilantro rather than fresh because that's what I had. Definitely worthy of making again! I served it with "Spanish Rice Original" from this site, which was also a winner. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SpecialKsGirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Niceville, Florida, USA
Living In: Camarillo, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2010
This was delicious, but, like other reviewers suggested, DO NOT ADD MORE SALT! There is enough salt in the Creole seasoning already. I think it's more flavorful to use canned tomatoes instead of fresh, but drain them (I forgot). I served it over red Quinoa, which is a nice alternative to rice and does a good job absorbing liquid.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Courtney Williams

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: West Grove, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2010
We reall enjoyed this. I cut way back on the olive oil to make this more figure friendly and the fish still had great flavor. The sauce was excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2010
Heavenly fish! All 7 of my kids love it! Not an easy task in my house! It is so easy and delicious! And healthy to boot!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kdgengler

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2010
This recipe is awesome!! It appears chic/high class but is really quite simple to make. The first time I prepared it, I found it too salty and a little too spicy. The second around, I eliminated all the salt (the Creole season I use has a good amount in it already) and cut out the cayenne...PERFECTION!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2010
A very tasty dish with a surprising mix of ingredients, definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rhys

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Wilmington, Delaware, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2010
Excellent! I normally don't like fish and have been looking for a recipe that is good enough that I can add to regular rotation. This dish did it! I'm very happy that I'll now be able to have fish on a regular basis. Restaraunt quality for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Johnstown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Ebensburg, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2010
This was fabulous! I had six people so increased the servings. Added one more chile and couple cloves garlic (we love extra) simmered more than 20 mins to cook down.... but stayed true to the rest of recipe and it got raves. Also great over chicken breasts prepared the same way. Served with the Best Spanish Rice recipe and dinner was a huge success. Will definitely serve again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 46) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Baked Tilapia Parmesan

The whole family will love this crispy baked fish.

Lemon Garlic Tilapia

See how to make a mild baked fish that’s quick, healthy, and flavorful.

Parmesan Crusted Tilapia Fillets

Turn five simple ingredients into a flavorful baked fish dinner.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States