Sonoran Tilapia Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2014
We loved this. Couldn't follow it to the letter but came close. (used half a bell pepper instead of Anaheim; cajun seasoning instead of creole) As written it is SPICY so back off on the cayenne and red pepper flakes if you can't take the heat. Great with pasta on the side, covered in the sauce. Yum. My family is usually ho-hum about tilapia because it's so mild. This really wakes it up and makes it tasty. Thank you Gibson!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JCAFELD

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: North Canton, Ohio, USA
Living In: El Segundo, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2013
Will keep this recipe. I made my own creole seasoning from this website, but cut the salt down a little bit and was missing onion powder. We had 9,000 lume cayenne pepper and I don't know how that compares to the usual so I decided to omit it from the sauce. The only salt I used was in the creole mixture. I used non stick spray in the pan and just brushed olive oil on the fish. I put the remaining spice on my husband's piece and he remarked that it was quite spicy which is a first. Glad I didn't add more. Quite tasty. I used a 14.5 oz can of stewed tomatoes that I blended in place of the whole tomatoes. I used too much chopped onion by mistake, but it was fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2013
This was just ok. I don't know what I did differently from everyone else. The only substitution I made was to use sole instead of tilapia but I don't think that should've been a big factor. Too me, it seemed to have too much flavor: too much salt, too much lime, too much cilantro. And the sauce...that was a lot of sauce and it was watery. Too much sauce. Anyway, it took me a long time to make this and my son hated it. Not worth figuring it out. There are so many other fish recipes that my son loves and take just a small fraction of the time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Donald, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2013
I absolutely loved this recipe. It is a great way to serve fish without the fishy taste. My boyfriend and I were amazed at how flavorful this was. I'm definitely spreading this recipe to friends and family it was just so amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2013
This should be the first recipe that pops up when you type in "tilapia." So unique and delicious. I tried to follow the recipe as close to exact as possible, but I always use less oil (olive oil from a spray bottle can greatly reduce the total amount) and no butter. I didn't realize that I was out of any kind of stock until I had already starting making this, so I just used water and it had plenty of flavor. I also didn't add any salt and it was plenty salty. But all of the other seasonings, lime juice, peppers, onions, tomatoes, olives are a must! I really let the sauce simmer to reduce the amount of liquid and make it more like a warm topping. It was perfect. The boy really liked it and he swears he hates tomatoes. I have also made this with cod and I think I like it even better, but I love cod to begin with. This recipe is a keeper and a refreshing change of pace from the same old ways of preparing fish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2012
Great unique dish. Added some variety to our fish tastes. Will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2012
Way too much salt. Otherwise, delicious and beautiful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christie Robertson

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2012
I followed this recipe exactly and my family raved about it. Even my picky 13 year old son cleaned his plate. However, next time they requested I make it WITHOUT the sauce!! I have to agree, the fish was amazing right out of the oven and didn't need the sauce thrown on top (which also makes this recipe 10 times easier to cook)! I still give it 5 stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heather

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Norwalk, Iowa, USA
Living In: Corona, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2012
Very tasty! Glad I made it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2012
OH my gosh! No complaints. I absolutely LOVED this. It's a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 51) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Baked Tilapia Parmesan

The whole family will love this crispy baked fish.

Lemon Garlic Tilapia

See how to make a mild baked fish that’s quick, healthy, and flavorful.

Parmesan Crusted Tilapia Fillets

Turn five simple ingredients into a flavorful baked fish dinner.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States