Sonoran Tilapia Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2014
This is delicious, but next time I make it I will cut the salt and olive oil in half.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2014
The sauce with this is wonderful and there is plenty of it. I made just as written and it does have a kick to it. I love serving it with spaghetti squash so you can use the sauce on the squash too. A couple of my kids don't like fish so I'll substitute a couple of chicken breasts for them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2014
I didn't have all the ingredients, probably why it only got 3 stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Blake&SylarsMom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oconomowoc, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Spanaway, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2014
We really liked this. I used about 1 pound of fish and had plenty of sauce. I took the advice of others and did not salt the fish after the creole seasoning but I did salt the sauce. I also left out half of the red pepper flakes as others suggested. It was still plenty spicy. I did not have any wine so I used a tablespoon or so of sherry. After 20 minutes I felt my sauce was still too thin so I used a bit of corn starch to thicken it. Worked great and the sauce stayed on top of the fish instead of running onto the plate. I'll make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ARMY WIFE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2014
Very full of flavor. Wanted to try a new way to cook tilapia. I had all ingredients in house (except aneheim chili pepper - substituted a poblano instead) Will be my go to recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2014
We thought it was a great dish. Definitely a keeper and one to share. Will cut back on the oil next time but other than that, awesome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by artcat

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Deer Park, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2014
We loved this. Couldn't follow it to the letter but came close. (used half a bell pepper instead of Anaheim; cajun seasoning instead of creole) As written it is SPICY so back off on the cayenne and red pepper flakes if you can't take the heat. Great with pasta on the side, covered in the sauce. Yum. My family is usually ho-hum about tilapia because it's so mild. This really wakes it up and makes it tasty. Thank you Gibson!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JCAFELD

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: North Canton, Ohio, USA
Living In: El Segundo, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2013
Will keep this recipe. I made my own creole seasoning from this website, but cut the salt down a little bit and was missing onion powder. We had 9,000 lume cayenne pepper and I don't know how that compares to the usual so I decided to omit it from the sauce. The only salt I used was in the creole mixture. I used non stick spray in the pan and just brushed olive oil on the fish. I put the remaining spice on my husband's piece and he remarked that it was quite spicy which is a first. Glad I didn't add more. Quite tasty. I used a 14.5 oz can of stewed tomatoes that I blended in place of the whole tomatoes. I used too much chopped onion by mistake, but it was fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2013
This was just ok. I don't know what I did differently from everyone else. The only substitution I made was to use sole instead of tilapia but I don't think that should've been a big factor. Too me, it seemed to have too much flavor: too much salt, too much lime, too much cilantro. And the sauce...that was a lot of sauce and it was watery. Too much sauce. Anyway, it took me a long time to make this and my son hated it. Not worth figuring it out. There are so many other fish recipes that my son loves and take just a small fraction of the time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Donald, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2013
I absolutely loved this recipe. It is a great way to serve fish without the fishy taste. My boyfriend and I were amazed at how flavorful this was. I'm definitely spreading this recipe to friends and family it was just so amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 46) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Baked Tilapia Parmesan

The whole family will love this crispy baked fish.

Lemon Garlic Tilapia

See how to make a mild baked fish that’s quick, healthy, and flavorful.

Parmesan Crusted Tilapia Fillets

Turn five simple ingredients into a flavorful baked fish dinner.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States