Sonora Chicken Pasta Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2004
I have been looking for this recipe since having it at Ruby Tuesday`s. This is definately not it. I`ve tried eliminating the velveeta & sour cream, & instead using an alfredo sauce. It`s closer to the original, but I can`t seem to get that southwestern cheese flavor, even after adding southwest seasoning. Hopefully someone can come up with that cheese sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2003
This recipe is NOT a good example of the actual Ruby Tuesday's entree. I would not recommend this dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2002
Good recipe! I thought the sauce was a little rich and it could have used more hot sauce, but other than that my husband & I thought it was "restaurant quality!"
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2011
This was pretty darn good. My husband cooked it, and used about 8 oz. Velveeta and a can of drained diced tomatoes with green chilies in place of the chopped tomatoes, because that's what we had on hand. I don't think we'll add any more Velveeta next time...the sauce was great and we LOVE cheese! Quick and easy and VERY filling! Thanks Bernadette!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GolferGirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbia, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Bowling Green, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2005
This is a decent starter recipe, but it needs some tweaking and I'm not sure yet how to go about it. The problem is the cheese: you can't get past the Velveeta taste, even when you cut the amount in half. No amount of sour cream can disguise that decidedly fake cheese taste. Additionally, it's pretty gross when, if you have leftover cheese sauce, it has congealed into a solid block of goo in the pan. I think the answer might lie in combining sour cream with the spices (and adding chile powder) and mixing in some shredded cheese, and then just warm it to serving temperature. The cheese won't be melted, but I think it'd have a more natural flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2003
For those who think this is too cheesy tasting or too much sour cream, I can only say "well, duh!" If you don't like those two ingredients, you definitely won't like this recipe and shouldn't even try it. My husband and I thought this was FANTASTIC! The first thing he said was that it LOOKED really nice. It tasted even better. Next time I'll use another can of beans and at least one more piece of chicken. The cheese sauce would also be great as a dip for chips or vegetables.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Juneau, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2011
I agree, to the people who "cant get over the Velveeta taste".. Well, this recipe is not for you! I found this recipe after looking for something to cook to use up my chunk of processed cheese food. (Not Velveeta brand, either.) I had to halve the recipe b/c I didn't have a pound of the stuff, in fact I didn't even have 1/2 pound but I improvised. I added a mexican spice blend to the cheese sauce (the fresh stuff you squeeze out of a tube) and it gave the sauce such an intense, good heat! I will definitely make this dish again if I come across Velveeta that I need to use up. I would even feed this to guests, it was delicious!!! Overall easy recipe to tweak or add to if need be, so don't worry if you don't have all the ingredients down to a T. I would suggest trying to make the sauce spicy or at least mild, it takes away from the processed cheese flavor that so many people don't love.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angelika

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Belfair, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2007
My daughter ate this at Ruby Tuesday's and absolutely loved it so I had to find the recipe. Now she likes mine better than at the restaurant!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KCGEORGE

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2003
Not bad. You must like cheese before even starting this recipe. I used only 8oz of cheese and added a dash of garlic/onion powder into the sauce. Also, I made a blackened chicken recipe (and more of it) to place on top. Don't think I'd make this again but I don't regret trying it either. My family seems to agree with this decision.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2003
Ruby Tuesday's version of this is my very favorite dish in the whole world. This is not it, however it is tastey. I have tried to subsitute Montery Jack instead of the processed cheese. It did not melt as smoothly as I would have liked but this is a great recipe to experiment with, and it will still come out rather well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 34) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chicken and Bow Tie Pasta

See how to make chicken with vegetables in a creamy cheese sauce.

Chicken Asiago and Orzo Pasta

Learn how to make an amazingly simple orzo and chicken pasta dish.

Greek Chicken Pasta

See how to make Greek-style pasta with chicken and artichokes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States