Sonora Chicken Pasta Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2007
My daughter ate this at Ruby Tuesday's and absolutely loved it so I had to find the recipe. Now she likes mine better than at the restaurant!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KCGEORGE

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2006
I didn't try this expecting what I had at a restaurant, and it was great. It didn't taste like the restaurant, but still good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Empire, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2006
I made this using a jar of nacho cheese sauce (from the salsa aisle) instead of Velveeta, then just added the sour cream and the beans and a 1/2 cup of grated cheese. I didn't need to add any other spices. I don't know what it tastes like at Ruby Tuesdays, but it tasted to us like macaroni and cheese made with nacho cheese sauce--and I hate to say that my family loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2006
If you want this to taste more like the real deal, add more spices!! I can't even tell you how much hot sauce and red pepper I added. I just kept tasting and adding more. Otherwise, it tasted great, and it was a very hearty meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2005
This is a decent starter recipe, but it needs some tweaking and I'm not sure yet how to go about it. The problem is the cheese: you can't get past the Velveeta taste, even when you cut the amount in half. No amount of sour cream can disguise that decidedly fake cheese taste. Additionally, it's pretty gross when, if you have leftover cheese sauce, it has congealed into a solid block of goo in the pan. I think the answer might lie in combining sour cream with the spices (and adding chile powder) and mixing in some shredded cheese, and then just warm it to serving temperature. The cheese won't be melted, but I think it'd have a more natural flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2005
This is pretty good. I don't recommend substituting plain yogurt for sour cream in this case; heating it up to make the sauce did something funny to the texture. Next time I will use more cheese, sour cream, and more black beans, and then it will be 5 stars! I also added some chipotle salsa to it at the end. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2005
I really like this recipe but it is very rich so don't pile your plate like I did the first time I had this. You won't eat it all. It does make very nice leftovers. My family liked it too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hazleton, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2004
I have been looking for this recipe since having it at Ruby Tuesday`s. This is definately not it. I`ve tried eliminating the velveeta & sour cream, & instead using an alfredo sauce. It`s closer to the original, but I can`t seem to get that southwestern cheese flavor, even after adding southwest seasoning. Hopefully someone can come up with that cheese sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2004
This was ok. Kind of reminded me of mac and cheese. The black beans didn't mesh well with this dish. I feel exactly like Dreginek, don't regret trying it, but won't bother to make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amydoll

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rockford, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2003
This recipe is NOT a good example of the actual Ruby Tuesday's entree. I would not recommend this dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 35) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chicken and Bow Tie Pasta

See how to make chicken with vegetables in a creamy cheese sauce.

Chicken Asiago and Orzo Pasta

Learn how to make an amazingly simple orzo and chicken pasta dish.

Greek Chicken Pasta

See how to make Greek-style pasta with chicken and artichokes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States