Sonny's Waldorf Turkey Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2014
I was prepared for my family to like it and for me to think it was just Ok. Wrong and wrong. It was great, we loved it! It was one of the best salads I've made. I made as instructed with just a few minor changes. Used left over turducken from Christmas, added more mayo, 2 dashes of chipotle pepper (we like heat) and substituted gram masala for the curry (don't think we've found the right brand yet). I'll be making this again for the next holiday with family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Isthat Onsale
Reviewed: May 13, 2014
As tempting as it may be, don't mess around with this recipe too much. It is fabulous!! I made the dressing as-is, but used 1/2 fat free mayo and 1/2 fat free sour cream because I tripled the recipe and ran out of mayo. I stuck my finger in the dressing and tasted it . . . and I got a bit nervous because I wasn't sure this was going to work at all. I almost threw it out but I decided to see it through as see where this recipe was going. No turkey on hand, so I oven baked 3 large breasts with olive oil, salt, and pepper - about 30 minutes. I also only had glazed walnuts, so I chopped them very fine, threw them in, and crossed my fingers that they wouldn't be too sweet. I held my breath and pulled it all together. WOW! WOW!! WOW!!! I'm telling you - the pop of the curry, the zing of the vinegar, the bite of the red onion, the sweet of the fruit, and the salty-peppery chicken was AMAZING. The glazed walnuts added a fun "nut candy" effect that we loved. It is a bit of work to put this together, so make sure you make ALOT of it so you can enjoy it more than once. I have a little left over and can't wait to try it tomorrow after the flavors have really had a chance to blend. Thank you SKYBLUE1963!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kjsboutique

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Middleton, Idaho, USA
Living In: Nampa, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2014
I made the recipe as written except subbed dried cranberries for the grapes. It was really good and husband raved about it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2013
Excellent! I used pecans instead of walnuts....my only complaint is that it didn't make enough! Next time I will double the recipe. I was a little suspicious about the curry, but it worked really well...I can't imagine the salad without it. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2013
My blue heaven, this is so yummy! I doubled the recipe and took it to a potluck. Thankfully, there was a serving or two leftover to bring home. The combination of flavors works so well, and curry just takes it over the top. Thank you SkyBlue1963.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2013
Absolutely delicious! I left out the walnuts because my husband isn't a fan of nuts in his food. It didn't matter one bit. I put the salad in pita pockets and they were an instant hit. I will be making this salad every time I have leftover turkey!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2013
I used sour cream instead of mayonnaise and red wine vinegar instead of cider vinegar. I also used chicken instead of turkey. It definitely had a curry flavor! I will definitely make this again. I also got 6 servings out of this, as the recipe states. The only thing I think that would improve it would be more parmesan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2013
I added a bit more cider vinegar and let it sit overnight
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deborah Houston

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2013
This is a really great recipe! I didn't use walnuts but followed the rest of the recipe. I also will be making this over and over again!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SugarPlum♥
Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2013
I love curry and really liked this recipe. I liked the combination of apples and grapes walnuts. I will be making this again. thanks for sharing your recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SugarPlum♥

Cooking Level: Intermediate



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Turkey Waldorf Salad

Use leftover turkey to make this classic salad with a creamy yogurt dressing.

Turkey and Veggie Alfredo Pot Pie

See how to turn leftovers into a super-simple pot pie.

How to Make Turkey Soup

Turn leftover turkey into hearty, healthy, delicious soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States