Something Special Apple Crisp Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2013
This apple crisp is the best I have made. I put the walnuts into the food processor instead of stirring them into the mix. The rest of the recipe I followed exact. I used Granny Smith apples. I made this for a Sunday night family dinner dessert and everyone loved it. We ate it warm with a scoop of vanilla bean ice cream on top! Delicious! Will be making this one again and again. Great Fall dessert. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2012
I am really surprised this was a 5 star recipe. It tasted fine, was not bad, but I have definitely made better. It did reheat in the over well for a later eating. I'd call it mediocre and will not make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2012
Love all the flavors in this crisp! Looking for something different from the norm - then this is the crisp for you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by maasum

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Corvallis, Oregon, USA
Living In: Morristown, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2012
This is utterly DELICIOUS!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Maybe just a *tiny* bit too sweet, but that can be easily remedied! :) I would definitely make again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mykaela

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fossil, Oregon, USA
Living In: Oak Harbor, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2012
This was very good. I passed the recipe on to a friend.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nonna Hope

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Middleton, Idaho, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2012
I made this and served with vanilla ice cream at my small group at church. It was very good, but I don't know that it was any better than other apple crisp recipes I have tried.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KaylaMayaCamrynMOM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Washington, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2011
Delicious!!! I've tried many different apple crisp recipes, I'm done searching! This is a keeper and my family will enjoy it time and time again. Thanks so much for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2011
This really was good. I did make a couple changes just out of necessity (didn't have any coconut and we have a slight walnut allergy in this family). I also did not measure the apples, and instead just sliced up 4 empire apples. I doubled the oats to make up for the coconut. And I also added 2 tablespoons of melted butter to the apple filling, because we like more of a pie type filling. As I said, this was excellent. Next time I will use at least one more apple, as I feel it was a little skimpy in the apple department. And I for sure want to try this with coconut! I used a 9x13 casserole dish for this, because I was concerned it would be too much for a 9 inch pie plate. I made homemade whipped cream and served this as a dessert for Thanksgiving. It got many compliments, and was definitely a favorite. I'll be filing this one away.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ogden, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2011
Awesome topping. For the filling, I only used 4 thinly sliced apples: No sugar, spices, etc. The topping had enough flavor to take care of the apples. Perhaps a little less salt would be a good idea. I also did not use the coconut or nutmeg AND substituted a bit of the butter with vegetable oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Katrina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2011
Excellent recipe; however, I do agree with another reader that the butter may be a tad too much and definitely makes the paper liners greasey. I chose not to process the oats in the food processor, preferring instead, to keep them as is and they add a great texture to the finished product. I think next time, I'll try applesauce in place of the butter. This recipe is really, really good! A keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Scarborough, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Whitby, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 19) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Apple Crisp with Oat Topping

Cinnamon apples bake under a simple topping of sweet, buttery oats.

Apple Oatmeal Crisp

See how to make a simple apple dessert that’s ready in an hour.

Slow Cooker Apple Crisp

Apples slowly cook with a cinnamony sweet mixture topped with walnut crumble.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States