Something Special Apple Crisp Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2014
I would use a little less sugar, especially if serving with ice cream. I did double the spice in the filling and added about an 1/8 tsp of cloves to both the filling and topping. I also substituted the same amount of corn starch for the tapioca and it turned out fine. So YUMMY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kim Bugbee Bever

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2014
This was awesome! I love sweet, so this was perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sally Pawloski

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2013
This apple crisp is the best I have made. I put the walnuts into the food processor instead of stirring them into the mix. The rest of the recipe I followed exact. I used Granny Smith apples. I made this for a Sunday night family dinner dessert and everyone loved it. We ate it warm with a scoop of vanilla bean ice cream on top! Delicious! Will be making this one again and again. Great Fall dessert. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2012
I am really surprised this was a 5 star recipe. It tasted fine, was not bad, but I have definitely made better. It did reheat in the over well for a later eating. I'd call it mediocre and will not make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2012
Love all the flavors in this crisp! Looking for something different from the norm - then this is the crisp for you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by maasum

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Corvallis, Oregon, USA
Living In: Morristown, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2012
This is utterly DELICIOUS!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Maybe just a *tiny* bit too sweet, but that can be easily remedied! :) I would definitely make again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mykaela

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fossil, Oregon, USA
Living In: Oak Harbor, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2012
This was very good. I passed the recipe on to a friend.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nonna Hope

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Middleton, Idaho, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2012
I made this and served with vanilla ice cream at my small group at church. It was very good, but I don't know that it was any better than other apple crisp recipes I have tried.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KaylaMayaCamrynMOM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Washington, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2011
Delicious!!! I've tried many different apple crisp recipes, I'm done searching! This is a keeper and my family will enjoy it time and time again. Thanks so much for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2011
This really was good. I did make a couple changes just out of necessity (didn't have any coconut and we have a slight walnut allergy in this family). I also did not measure the apples, and instead just sliced up 4 empire apples. I doubled the oats to make up for the coconut. And I also added 2 tablespoons of melted butter to the apple filling, because we like more of a pie type filling. As I said, this was excellent. Next time I will use at least one more apple, as I feel it was a little skimpy in the apple department. And I for sure want to try this with coconut! I used a 9x13 casserole dish for this, because I was concerned it would be too much for a 9 inch pie plate. I made homemade whipped cream and served this as a dessert for Thanksgiving. It got many compliments, and was definitely a favorite. I'll be filing this one away.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ogden, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 21) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Apple Crisp with Oat Topping

Cinnamon apples bake under a simple topping of sweet, buttery oats.

Apple Oatmeal Crisp

See how to make a simple apple dessert that’s ready in an hour.

Slow Cooker Apple Crisp

Apples slowly cook with a cinnamony sweet mixture topped with walnut crumble.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States