Something Special Apple Crisp Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2014
I would use a little less sugar, especially if serving with ice cream. I did double the spice in the filling and added about an 1/8 tsp of cloves to both the filling and topping. I also substituted the same amount of corn starch for the tapioca and it turned out fine. So YUMMY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kim Bugbee Bever

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2014
This was awesome! I love sweet, so this was perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sally Pawloski

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2013
This apple crisp is the best I have made. I put the walnuts into the food processor instead of stirring them into the mix. The rest of the recipe I followed exact. I used Granny Smith apples. I made this for a Sunday night family dinner dessert and everyone loved it. We ate it warm with a scoop of vanilla bean ice cream on top! Delicious! Will be making this one again and again. Great Fall dessert. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2012
I am really surprised this was a 5 star recipe. It tasted fine, was not bad, but I have definitely made better. It did reheat in the over well for a later eating. I'd call it mediocre and will not make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2012
Love all the flavors in this crisp! Looking for something different from the norm - then this is the crisp for you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by maasum

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Corvallis, Oregon, USA
Living In: Morristown, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2012
This is utterly DELICIOUS!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Maybe just a *tiny* bit too sweet, but that can be easily remedied! :) I would definitely make again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mykaela

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fossil, Oregon, USA
Living In: Oak Harbor, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2012
This was very good. I passed the recipe on to a friend.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nonna Hope

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Middleton, Idaho, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2012
I made this and served with vanilla ice cream at my small group at church. It was very good, but I don't know that it was any better than other apple crisp recipes I have tried.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KaylaMayaCamrynMOM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Washington, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2011
Delicious!!! I've tried many different apple crisp recipes, I'm done searching! This is a keeper and my family will enjoy it time and time again. Thanks so much for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2011
This really was good. I did make a couple changes just out of necessity (didn't have any coconut and we have a slight walnut allergy in this family). I also did not measure the apples, and instead just sliced up 4 empire apples. I doubled the oats to make up for the coconut. And I also added 2 tablespoons of melted butter to the apple filling, because we like more of a pie type filling. As I said, this was excellent. Next time I will use at least one more apple, as I feel it was a little skimpy in the apple department. And I for sure want to try this with coconut! I used a 9x13 casserole dish for this, because I was concerned it would be too much for a 9 inch pie plate. I made homemade whipped cream and served this as a dessert for Thanksgiving. It got many compliments, and was definitely a favorite. I'll be filing this one away.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ogden, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 21) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Apple Crisp with Oat Topping

Cinnamon apples bake under a simple topping of sweet, buttery oats.

Apple Oatmeal Crisp

See how to make a simple apple dessert that’s ready in an hour.

Slow Cooker Apple Crisp

Apples slowly cook with a cinnamony sweet mixture topped with walnut crumble.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States