Something Different Sweet Rolls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2001
I used a yellow cake mix, and the recipe came out wonderful! However, I think I fit them too snuggly in the pan, I would allow for "some" room.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2001
The syrup made the rolls burn on the bottom before they were cooked through. Also the flavor was bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2006
I'm not sure if I like these as well as "cake mix cinnamon rolls" recipe here on Allrecipes. Both are similar and come out perfect texture; except the topping method is different. I had a BUTTER PECAN CAKE MIX which was a nice choice for this. This recipe is very forgiving, as I had off-brand flour and old yeast; but yet they came out light and fluffy. I didn't have pecans to top with. Filled an 11x15 glass pan and no burning nor scorching on the bottom. I do find with both recipes that it takes more than 1/2 hour to double in bulk; more like 1+ hours. The caramel sauce on top did sink some to the bottom but they are not really 'gooey' syrupy. I'm not sure if I would double the recipe for the sauce next time. I did whip up some cream cheese frosting to drizzle over top which I think it needed. All in all a good recipe. I'd like to tinker with the caramel sauce because I do like that goo and I love cake mix cinnamon rolls due to the versatility and they are always so light and fluffy. I've made them several times and each time they have come out perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TUNISIANSWIFE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: King Ferry, New York, USA
Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2006
I didnt care for these but sent them with my husband to work where they lasted about 10 minuets and people LOVED them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stacy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Chef4Six
Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2009
These were OK - I made the rolls exactly as stated - They weren't bad - but they weren't the kind of texture that I like from a cinnamon roll. I like dense heavy dough and these were very cakey and light. I had to add almost 3 extra cups of flour to the recipe. Maybe it has to do with the damp weather outside? but that was quite strange and no-one else had that in their review... I thought the dough was SO EASY TO WORK WITH - it was very light and streachable!! This is the first time I made cinnamon rolls with a white sugar and cinnamon filling as opposed to my usual brown sugar and cinnamon filling. I prefer the brown sugar - as it has a stronger flavor. I did not make the extra gooey sauce...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef4Six

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Monsey, New York, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2010
WOW DELICIOUS FOR SURE!! this is my new cinnamon roll recipe. I added 1 T oil and 1 egg...not sure how they would of been w/o them but thought they might require it.. I used no sugar on the inside, and added raisins, I used a lot of cinnamon. I 4x the carmel glaze....delish
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2007
I made two batches of these for Christmas, one with a doubled recipe of the gooey topping, and a second pan with creamy frosting. Both were a hit. And unlike most other sweet rolls I have made, these were still moist and delicious the second day, maybe from the preservatives in the cake mix. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2008
I love this recipe. It is easy and works well. I have had to add more flour every time (1/2 cup at a time until right consistency). The other thing I do is make a brown sugar and butter glaze to put in the pan before baking and then a quick powdered sugar icing for the top when they are done. I know it sounds like a sugar overload, but it gets rave reviews.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2012
This is an amazing recipe! They are tasty, easy, and everyone I have made them for loves them. I had to put them in both 9x13 pans, but one wasn't all the way full, and in that one that topping did turn into a "candy" on the bottom and sort of ruined that batch. The ones that were fit closely into the one pan turned out perfectly! Next time I will make sure they fit snugly into the pans by using a 9x13 and an 8x8, or cutting the rolls slightly shorter when it gets to that point. I also had to make an extra half-batch of topping to really cover the rolls.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2006
I cant say how wonderful this recipe is thank you!! I have a recipe from school (Specality Baking School) that isnt as nice as this recipe. I coated the cinnamon rolls with a caramel glaze then baked them...yummmm!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 11) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Jiffy Cinnamon Rolls

Watch how to make super quick cinnamon rolls.

Sweet Dinner Rolls

Use a bread machine to make fast work of this tasty dough. Yum!

Cinnamon Rolls

See how to make simple cinnamon rolls using your bread machine.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States